We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big lake motel - the best in peggy's cove”
Review of Big Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I stayed at Big Lake Motel in August 2009 with my girlfriend for 3 nights. We saw a few other places around, but once we got there we just knew that we had to stay. We were welcomed by a young lady who was extremely nice and helpful. Our room was overlooking the clear water of Big Lake. The view was just amazing. I remember sitting on the deck every afternoon, enjoying the beautiful sunset and the wonderful weather. The room was extra clean and shiny, it actually felt like we were the first guests ever in that room. The continental breakfast was also excellent, there was a huge veriaty of food, including really fresh & yummy muffins... We would defenetly go back as soon as possible and we are simply jealous of those of you who are on the way there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lioneuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Big Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

My wife and I showed up here after 11pm on July 6, 2009. The gentleman running the hotel was most polite and accomodating. He was happy to show us around, even though late. The view overlooking the lake, well, pictures don't even do it justice as we have told friends back home in Tennessee. You have to see it, the whole landscape to believe it. Magnificient. The hotel, the rooms are immaculate. My wife is from Thailand, she and I have traveled many places (exotic) in the world between Nova Scotia and there. Let's say we are well traveled travelers. For the money, and nothing to do with money, I really haven't seen any hotel cleaner, more tastefully decorated, cozy, and just all out a super place to stay. Add the decor, hot water, new furniture, new bed linens and quilts, the absolute politeness and the always smiling staff, cleanliness, and surrounding scenery, you just can't beat this place. I understand alot of people want the "ocean view". You can get that anywhere in the world, and we love it too. However, treat yourself to a one of a kind spot, of the hundreds of motels/hotels I have lodged in worldwide, this is a most unique view. The area is very quiet, smells of the sea and alpine trees, we walked at sunrise, and we were moved at the astounding natural beauty. Really, words can't describe the utter natural beauty and super deal when we drove upon this hotel. And, we will be back, to this exact spot hopefully this year, and if not we will make it the next. Let me say in closing, my wife absolutely loved place, and even said she wanted to go back there. And she is not easily impressed about hotels, but loved this one. >>>Jeffntn@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Celles qui donnent sur le lac
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francoise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillaume C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alessia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianBayern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Lake
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
333 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lake Lodge

Address: 5849 Prospect Rd | Peggy's Cove area, Big Lake, Nova Scotia B3Z 3T8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Big Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Price Range: $91 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and live the authentic Canadian experience in this exclusive setting on the edge of Peggy's Cove Reservation. Set in the most beautiful part of Nova Scotia, our hotel looks out over Big Lake to the infinit woods of the magnificent region. All rooms are double occupancy equipped with queen-sized beds, a seating area, night table, 3-piece private bathroom, free toiletries and free WiFi. The suites can occupy up to four people and feature additional in-room amenities, including a microwave, mini fridge, a 4-piece bathroom and a luxury hot tub. A terrace or balcony access is featured in certain rooms. Big Lake Lodge offers it's gusts free WiFi throughout the property, on-site lounge with a pool table, a small restaurant serving breakfasts, lunches, drinks and snack, a homey bakery and a cosy bar. Big Lake Lodge is within a 7-minute drive from Peggy's Cove, Granite Springs Golf Club, while Indian Lake Golf Course is a 22-minute drive away. It is at a distance of 34 km from the city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Big Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing