We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complimentary Breakfast... not really”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Carol Stream
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complimentary Breakfast... not really”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a clean, quiet and safe place to stay. However, the website is misleading. It lists complementary breakfast as one of its amenities. At check-in, you are given vouchers for the restaurant next door. When you go there for breakfast, you are given the choice of complementary breakfast of dry cereal and fruit/ toast and fruit or you can take $3 off any menu item. Either way, you would be leaving a tip for the waitress so it's not really complementary, is it? Only other issues we had were poor internet service and inconsistent water temp in the shower. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for the review and I apologize your stay was not quite up to par. We are currently looking at adding an on site continental breakfast in the near future which should address some of your concerns. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
56
22
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Hills, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel looks good on the outside, but is in poor repair. Windows leak, no sound insulation very loud. reserved a king bed and received 2 doubles on check in and no other rooms available. wanted to charge me for the room if i went to another hotel unless they could resell it even though it was there mistake on not reserving the right room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the review and I apologize for the room mix up. I have spoken to my staff and instructed them on how to better handle a situation such as this if it ever were to happen again in the future.

In regards to the hotel we are in the planning stages of a major upgrade which should give our property a nice facelift.

Ryan LaMere
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ishpeming hotels

Saint Ignace, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Pool was clean but no towels either day. Floors are noisy so we worried our kids might bother others. Still room was big. Showerhead was nice. Easy in and out. Wifi available. Pricing was ok. They give breakfast discount coupons for the restaurant next door which we did not try. Cell service did not work inside rooms. Liked the view of the woods outside the window. Felt more private. Maid service was friendly and respectful.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaFumixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again real soon! Rl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A wide spot in the highway, wished I could be more positive but the property is a place for a traveller's night. Nothing outstanding in either case, good or bad. As always Best Western beds are hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for the review and I apologize that our accommodations were not quite up to par for you. We do our best to provide quality accommodations and friendly service at a reasonable price. We do hope you will give us another try next time you are visiting the area. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Thought the breakfast arrangement was disappointing. No in-house breakfast offered. We were given coupons for our choice of three minimal selections at the restaurant next door. Appeared to be under common management with the hotel... come-on to order off the menu at full price with a small discount. Traffic noise from the highway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review and I apologize that you did not like the complimentary offerings we have at the property. We are in the process of improving our selections and they should be ready to implement soon.

Sincerely,

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escanaba, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was decent but the water closet (bath/toilet room) was very, very small. The nearly $100 rate was a bit high I felt. The ice machine was broke but they had buckets of ice on the floor around the machine. Not the best solution imho. Other than that it was ok, comfy bed, clean room, nice TV, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review, we take our customer feedback seriously and are always looking to improve.

Just wanted to note that we now have a new Ice Machine on site and its working great. :-)

Sincerely,

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perham, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We chose the Best Western in Ishpeming, MI because we had our dog with us. The hotel is pet-friendly and close to where we needed to be. The rooms were spacious and fairly clean, although our carpet had numerous stains. (Maybe that's what a "pet-friendly" room is?) The beds were extremely firm, but comfortable enough. The biggest problem for us is that the free high speed internet did not work AT ALL anywhere we went in the hotel. It was also promised at the restaurant, but didn't work there either. The "free continental breakfast" consists of a coupon that can be redeemed at the restaurant next door for a few small breakfast choices. We chose to use the coupons as $3 off full menu items instead, which was not a bad deal, but a truly FREE, full-sized breakfast would've been more in line with the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank kc0llette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you and we hope tosee you again real soon!

Sincerely,
Ryan L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Ishpeming
28 reviews
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
468 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
749 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
278 reviews
13.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Property: Magnuson Country Inn
Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing