We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small water closet and no ice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was decent but the water closet (bath/toilet room) was very, very small. The nearly $100 rate was a bit high I felt. The ice machine was broke but they had buckets of ice on the floor around the machine. Not the best solution imho. Other than that it was ok, comfy bed, clean room, nice TV, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for the review, we take our customer feedback seriously and are always looking to improve.

Just wanted to note that we now have a new Ice Machine on site and its working great. :-)

Sincerely,

RyanL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We chose the Best Western in Ishpeming, MI because we had our dog with us. The hotel is pet-friendly and close to where we needed to be. The rooms were spacious and fairly clean, although our carpet had numerous stains. (Maybe that's what a "pet-friendly" room is?) The beds were extremely firm, but comfortable enough. The biggest problem for us is that the free high speed internet did not work AT ALL anywhere we went in the hotel. It was also promised at the restaurant, but didn't work there either. The "free continental breakfast" consists of a coupon that can be redeemed at the restaurant next door for a few small breakfast choices. We chose to use the coupons as $3 off full menu items instead, which was not a bad deal, but a truly FREE, full-sized breakfast would've been more in line with the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kc0llette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you and we hope tosee you again real soon!

Sincerely,
Ryan L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Little things that I have come to expect from staying at Hampton Inns and Holiday Inn Express (120+ nights/year) were missing. There was no on-site breakfast; they give you a voucher for the cafe next door but the "free" offering is VERY limited. The website says complimentary breakfast but it doesn't say you have to go next door. There is no on-site exercise room. My room, while very dated, was clean. The Internet service was okay. I was trying to save my company a little money because the hotels are over-priced in this market. In the future, I'll pay the few extra dollars and stay in Marquette at on of the chains I am more accustomed to.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhkfwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for your input and sorry your stay did not match the expectations you had from staying with other chains. We are constantly evolving and looking for new ways to match our competition's offerings. We will keep your feedback in mind.

Sincerely,
RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is not for family with kids at all. There is no fridge, no micro wave and to eat breakfast you have to go outside in other building. Not only that there was only one microwave in the hotel which was out of order for the most time and they will not fix a $ 50 microwave. Most disgusting thing was there were fleece in the bed room and my kids got bitten all over including me and my wife.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gazanfer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

I apologize that you had an unpleasant stay with us. We value feedback from our guests and use it to improve our facilities.

Just a couple of clarifications based on your comments:

1) We feel we are a great hotel for children and families. Many thousands of happy families have stayed with us and return regularly when visiting the area.

2) The microwave you mentioned was replaced with a new one 2 days after it stopped working.

3) We are in the process of adding fridges and microwaves to our rooms.

Thanks again for your input.

Ryan L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've stayed here several times and it has been a pretty consistently good experience. They have four rooms that allow dogs, and they want to be told at the time of the reservation that you will have a dog with you. The room this latest trip was clean and close to the stairs. Security here is pretty good - you have to card in at any time unless you use the lobby. No fridge in the room but there is a microwave by the ice machine.

Complimentary breakfast is next door at the Country Grille so you can either take the complimentary choice or knock $3 off your bill from the regular menu - much preferable to the norm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lietuva_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you agin very soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel was very clean. The pool was great. Breakfast was great too. We just wish the pool would have stayed open to kids for a bit longer. We had a lovely time on the Pictured Rocks cruise, but my kids were disappointed that when we returned to the hotel the pool was closing in 5mins. The pool also didn't open until 10am so they couldn't swim the next morning. This made the overall value of the hotel less attractive because I was willing to pay extra for the pool/slide and we really never got to use it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks, we hope to see you again soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I always stay at the Best Western here in Ishpeming. The folks are friendly & the rooms are very nice. I have stayed here several times during the snowmobile season & warmer weather. Very quiet & restful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwbare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thanks for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again very soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Ishpeming
29 reviews
12 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
855 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
514 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cedar Motor Inn
Cedar Motor Inn
#8 of 19 in Marquette
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range: $95 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing