We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My sister and I took my mom here to stay for Mother's Day and to enjoy the craft show! It was a great stay! We got a deal online, and had no problem checking in or with the deal! Clean room and pool area! I was very pleased to see a lift in the pool for people who had disabilities or had difficulty getting in the pool. Don't know if it was for 1 particular person or for everyone, but never the less, a great thing to see!!! Pool was open early, which is a plus for me!! It was a little chilly, but it probably is great in hot weather!! Staff was very friendly! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplelover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for the review and for staying with us. We are glad you liked the accommodations and had a good time/stay. We look forward to seeing you agin soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 128 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was nice and Staff very friendly, However advertising of this site claims to have on site bar with complimentary drinks, fitness center and full breakfast, First off the hotel owners own the bar, fitness center and restaurant. These are all separate buildings, some of them liek the fitness center several blocks away. I did not want to get out and go down the snow packed street in -2 degreee weather for a workout then return to my room to shower. So i go to breakfast- my complimentary breakfast include my choice of boiled or scrambled egg, with muffin or toast and canned peaches, does this sound like full breakfast? NO! Oh wait you get coffee also. but if you decide to order off the menu coffe is no longer free. but you do get a discount- how nice Buyer beware of fine print

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 50DawnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi,

I apologize that our amenities did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of revising how these are presented online and it should provide less confusion in the future. I hope you will give us another try next time you are in the area.

RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is outdated. The front desk clerk was very nice and welcoming, and our actual room was large and clean, but that's where the compliments end. Our room was on the second floor, which would not have been a big deal, except there isn't an elevator in the hotel. The hallways are dark and outdated. When we entered our room the thermometer was set at sixty one degrees (it was 11 degrees outside). With radiator heating it took over an hour to raise the temperature to seventy two. We soon found out that there was only ONE ice machine in the ENTIRE hotel. After walking all the way to the front of the hotel to the ice machine to fill up one small ice bucket we were told that somebody must have just used the ice machine and that it would take ten minutes to make more ice! Really???? We had two adults and two children in our room but we were only supplied with three bath towels. Ummm...that doesn't exactly add up. My biggest complaint though was the fact that the walls are paper thin. We could listen to the entire conversation of the people next door. I actually woke up at 6 a.m. because the person next door sneezed! That is just ridiculous!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommybics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi, I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We take all feedback into consideration and are always trying to provide the best possible experience for our guests.

We will do our best to remedy some of these issues and I hope you will give us another try next time you are traveling in the area.

RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very convenient hotel for the nearby ski race. Designated area for waxing skis. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Rooms and beds were comfortable. Everyone was friendly. Only complaint was I could hear lots of stomping from the rooms upstairs and lots of noise from the high school teams staying at the hotel, but that's not the hotel's fault. By midnight it was dead quiet and easy to sleep. I'll come back next year.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs and you won't have to worry about hearing stomping above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks for the kind words and look forward to seeing you again real soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Rooms were very clean. Lobby is very small. We were traveling with a group of 6 couples and we like to gather in lobby to visit and this did not work well. There were several high school activities going on in the area so there were a lot of young people staying at the motel and they gathered in the hallway and it was kind of loud. You could hear the showers from adjacent rooms. Location was good, good complimentary breakfast at resturant next door.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again real soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family and I visited the hotel for an extended weekend to snowmobile. The hotel lobby and rooms were clean and maintained well for their age. We were given a trail map for the area which was very kind of the staff. They were somewhat knowledgeable of the local trails and restaurants to visit. They provided us with some great local recommendations. They had ample parking for snowmobiles/trailers. They are also right on the trail. They provide coupons for breakfast at the restaurant next door, but the "complementary" items fall short of what I have come to expect from hotel breakfasts.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel offers a view to where many of the snowmobiles are kept and offer more of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks and we hope to see you again real soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Ishpeming
29 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
509 reviews
12.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
13.8 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing