We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is outdated. The front desk clerk was very nice and welcoming, and our actual room was large and clean, but that's where the compliments end. Our room was on the second floor, which would not have been a big deal, except there isn't an elevator in the hotel. The hallways are dark and outdated. When we entered our room the thermometer was set at sixty one degrees (it was 11 degrees outside). With radiator heating it took over an hour to raise the temperature to seventy two. We soon found out that there was only ONE ice machine in the ENTIRE hotel. After walking all the way to the front of the hotel to the ice machine to fill up one small ice bucket we were told that somebody must have just used the ice machine and that it would take ten minutes to make more ice! Really???? We had two adults and two children in our room but we were only supplied with three bath towels. Ummm...that doesn't exactly add up. My biggest complaint though was the fact that the walls are paper thin. We could listen to the entire conversation of the people next door. I actually woke up at 6 a.m. because the person next door sneezed! That is just ridiculous!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommybics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi, I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We take all feedback into consideration and are always trying to provide the best possible experience for our guests.

We will do our best to remedy some of these issues and I hope you will give us another try next time you are traveling in the area.

RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 126 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very convenient hotel for the nearby ski race. Designated area for waxing skis. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Rooms and beds were comfortable. Everyone was friendly. Only complaint was I could hear lots of stomping from the rooms upstairs and lots of noise from the high school teams staying at the hotel, but that's not the hotel's fault. By midnight it was dead quiet and easy to sleep. I'll come back next year.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs and you won't have to worry about hearing stomping above you.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks for the kind words and look forward to seeing you again real soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Rooms were very clean. Lobby is very small. We were traveling with a group of 6 couples and we like to gather in lobby to visit and this did not work well. There were several high school activities going on in the area so there were a lot of young people staying at the motel and they gathered in the hallway and it was kind of loud. You could hear the showers from adjacent rooms. Location was good, good complimentary breakfast at resturant next door.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again real soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family and I visited the hotel for an extended weekend to snowmobile. The hotel lobby and rooms were clean and maintained well for their age. We were given a trail map for the area which was very kind of the staff. They were somewhat knowledgeable of the local trails and restaurants to visit. They provided us with some great local recommendations. They had ample parking for snowmobiles/trailers. They are also right on the trail. They provide coupons for breakfast at the restaurant next door, but the "complementary" items fall short of what I have come to expect from hotel breakfasts.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel offers a view to where many of the snowmobiles are kept and offer more of the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks and we hope to see you again real soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just stayed for the weekend. For an older motel it's nice and clean. Front office staff were very helpful when we had snowmobile trail questions. Liked the coupons we got to eat next door. Food was excellent every day we were there. Pool is nice and hot tub great. Would return and recommend friends to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snickers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for the review and for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations and your time in the area. We look forward to hosting you again soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

While in Ishpeming on business, I stayed at the Best Western Country Inn. Nice hotel. Clean room that didn't have a funky smell and the front desk was very helpful. Check in was smooth. The hotel was quiet and close to where we had our meeting. Even though they do not have a continental breakfast in the hotel, they use the restaurant that is right beside the hotel and give you a coupon good for a choice of 3 different breakfast options. They are all good to get your morning going.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future. RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We checked in late afternoon, with little wait. The hotel doesn't offer free breakfast, but it is next door to a restaurant, and guests are provided with a $3.00 coupon per-person for a discount on breakfast, if you eat between 6-9:30 a.m.
The free wi-fi is non-existent. It takes minutes (literally) for a web page to come up.
The second floor room was spotless, but there is no elevator so we had to carry luggage up a flight of stairs. Amenities provided included coffee maker, iron and board, lots of decent size towels, conditioning shampoo, bar soap.
I especially liked the "clean" remote - a new type TV remote which does away with most of the filth of standard remote controls.
There was no microwave, mini-fridge or extra blankets, which you might need in the far north. I couldn't figure out how to operate the heat, but it didn't get that cold overnight.
Rooms with two beds include double beds - NOT queens, so you might be crowded sleeping two in a bed. Three pillows are provided per bed, but I couldn't find one that was comfortable.
There is no insulation in the bathroom wall. If someone flushes the toilet while you're asleep, you're jolted awake to what sounds like thunder. The shower sounds like Niagara Falls next to the bed. I didn't sleep very well, but we got this room via Hotwire so definitely didn't overpay.
Accommodations were fine for the price, but I'd have been unhappy if I paid full price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, so you;'re less likely to be awakened by highway noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thanks for the review and I'm sorry that the stay wasn't up to par for you.

I did want to clarify a couple things you mentioned though.

1. Our hotel does indeed offer a free limited breakfast as stated on the coupon you referenced. In loo of the free breakfast our guests have the option to get $3 off if they so choose. Our free breakfast exceeds Best Western requirements and the upgrade option is something we thought we could offer to our guests. It has been a very popular option.

We also offer a variety of rooms. The room you booked indeed did not have a microwave, refrigerator, etc but we do have those options available if guests would like them.

Thanks again for the review I just felt I should clarify those two items.

RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
54.5 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Ishpeming
29 reviews
29.5 mi away
Bear Paw Inn
Bear Paw Inn
#2 of 3 in Michigamme
13 reviews
21.6 mi away
Dancing Eagles Resort
Dancing Eagles Resort
#1 of 2 in Watersmeet
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range: $95 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing