We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here in mid March during the week when it got into the 80's up here, unusually rare this time of the year. It is within walking distance to a nice cafe in which they offer a free continental breakfast voucher, grocery store, Mcdonalds, a bowling alley and a nice brewery. The beds we slept in were actually really comfortable too I had no problem sleeping at night. Although, I am used to staying in economy hotels but we had a deal at this one. I would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area, but probably would not pay full price for it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Despite good customer service at the front desk, a painless check in/check out procedure, and some coupons for the local businesses, we will not be staying at this hotel again, because it all comes down to one thing: Comfort.

This place had the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in. Hard, yet unsupported, a night in these beds would give you all manner of stiffness and aches and pains once you hit the morning. My wife actually had to move to the couch, she found the beds so hard to sleep in. The pillows are oddly small, yet thick and firm, and even one was too large to sleep on comfortably.

The bathroom was in sort of shoddy repair, the shower didn't work terribly well, and had a tendency to leak onto the floor regardless of what you did with the shower curtain.

We got a good deal on the place, and the rest of it seemed nice enough, but those beds were enough to guarantee that we'll never be spending another night here.

Room Tip: Avoid being booked into room 103. It appears to be the handicap accessible room, and none of the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanuckianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Sorry to hear you had a poor experience. We do strive for guest satisfaction and are constantly improving and updating our rooms. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have stayed here back in 05 I think, for a few months while I was working up there and got to know some of the staff at the hotel and made some good friends at the hotel and at the bowling alley. I go back about once a year and this year it was in march and it was still the same great place it always was. Had a lot of good memories here. I have nothing bad to say about this place but the one girl that was working the desk the one day was kinda rude but other than that its a real nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fireman3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed it here. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The staff at the County Inn are great. I have stayed here many times. Hotel rooms are starting to show some wear.The walls could use some sound proofing, but its still worth the stop. Walking distance to grocery store, bar,food.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I usually stay here when I'm in the 30 miles radius area. The rooms are nice and clean. The pool was really cold the last night I stayed, and the hottub was too hot to go into. They give you free coupons for a few of the local restaurants and gym. Breakfast was coupons next door; pretty small amount of food. The highway was right next to the hotel so there was a lot of traffic throughout the whole day. I would say this is the best place to stay in the immediate area. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WItraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Excellent rooms with very comfortable beds and fine amenities. A caring staff also that takes care of your traveling needs well. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannew692010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here despite the poor reviews & it wasn't bad at all. Breakfast is provided in next door restaurant. Computer is available in lobby. Rooms relatively spacious, back side nice view of trees. Front desk staff are helpful. Pool is good for kids, which there seems to be a lot of. The room had all of the basics & served its purpose.

Room Tip: Request away from families on back side view of trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thanks, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Ishpeming
29 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
12 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
512 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
836 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range: $101 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing