We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst staff ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jasper Ridge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jasper Ridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst staff ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Room was comfortable enough, but outrageously overpriced for what it is. Front desk staff was appallingly unfriendly. Address was listed incorrectly online and difficult to find. I have never encountered less accommodating staff. A/C was broken and breakfast - nonexistent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Manager at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Sir, I apologize that you did not agree with our property wide NO PET POLICY. We do strictly enforce this as it can be an issue for our other guests with allergies and such. Since you chose to bring your dog into the room anyway, we followed through with our policy and added the additional charges onto your room. We then took the whole room apart and deep cleaned it to make sure no allergens were left in the room afterwards.

Sincerely,

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Front desk staff (Woman) very disrespectful. Overheard her screaming at another customer, (literally!!) and felt we were inconveniencing her by being there. Not helpful at all. In the morning we also overheard other customers that spent the night also had the same experience with her. Hospitality should not be her chosen field of employment!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnalee1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Manager at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review. We have spoken to all of our desk clerks and reinforced that this type of behavior is unacceptable regardless of the situation.

Sincerely,

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ishpeming hotels

Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was quite empty during our stay. I suspect that if full, you would hear some noise as the walls seem thin. The place was clean and the bed was comfortable. I don't think you'll find anything better anywhere close by. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Michigan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Manager at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review and kind words. We hope to see you again very soon!

Ryan L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an average hotel that in my opinion is very comparable to a simple sleep inn, knights inn, etc. Although a nice hotel, I do not think it is worth the price. It is very quiet and because of that you can easily hear the people next door. One of the beds in our room was very squeaky. For nearly the same price, I would stay at the Best Western nearby as it is a bit nicer. It is in a convenient location though and walking distance to the brewery, Mcdonalds, a movie theater and a family restaurant. I would stay here again only if the price was lowered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear about the issues you had with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

In the midst of a long road trip, the hotel offered pleasant, quiet lodgings for the nice. A country diner within walking distance provided a decent meal before retiring for the night. Although the room was small, it was clean. The bed was comfortable and fot the bill for a overnight roadside stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxtowerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
thanks, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our 2-night stay at Jasper Inn was positive. Quiet...set well back off the highway, clean, good location, spacious king suite on first floor. Price was OK with government rate. Vanity area was well lighted & separate from shower, stool area...always a plus. Staff was very helpful in highlighting local tourist attractions. Rose was a bit "reserved" at check-in but ended up being positive & quick to meet any special requests. On the less than positive side,bathroom linens need to be replaced....very worn. Breakfast offerings were very basic & spread out on a long bar with no breakfast area seating....sort of like breakfast was just an after-thought to management.
We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiserandolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks, please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cable, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

As normal in most recreational area spots the rent isn't cheap, however just by having my laptop with wifi I was able to save about $50 and only had to drive two blocks. Most motel/hotels have wifi and I had pulled into a Best Western that was on the main road and it was booked solid except for the room I needed, which is for the disabled. The price was quite pricey for about 6 hours sleep I had time for so I pulled out the laptop, started her up, and I picked up the wifi from the motel and looked for other places. Found a place two blocks away that was $30 cheaper and drove over there. I told the clerk that I had AAA, AARP, Government ID, anything & everything and what was the best price. She gave me $20 off more than what it said online and I grabbed it.
The Jasper Ridge Inn is about 2 blocks off the main road and is very nice newer motel that has everything you want except a pool. There is a Brewery Pub almost directly across the street that not only made the best beer I have EVER tasted, they had a huge menu and the food was also the best of had at a place that had the name brewery in it.
Back to the motel. The rooms are large enough and very clean. They do have a continental breakfast which is what you'd expect, and the staff (all 3 shifts) were very pleasant and knowledgable. Another point is since it is a couple of blocks from the main road it is very quiet.
You could drive to Marquette about 25 miles away to find something just a bit cheaper though I don't think you could have gotten anything nicer for what I had to pay. Funny thing was when I was leaving I found out the same people that owned the Best Western own the Jasper Inn also! Enjoy the U.P. of Michigan!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any of them. They're all quiet since the place is a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Country Inn
Magnuson Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Ishpeming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
11.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 18 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 18 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 18 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#8 of 18 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Ridge Inn

Property: Jasper Ridge Inn
Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, 1000 River Parkway, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jasper Ridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jasper Ridge Inn also offers special low rates for Business travelers, Seniors (AARP), Groups, Snowmobilers and Motor coach groups. Plus all children under 18 stay free with a paying adult.The Country Village Resort has over 30 village shops, 5 screen movie theater, bowling center and many other services all within walking distance.The Jasper Ridge Inn also has outstanding meeting facilities for any occasion. It can accommodate groups from 2 to 70. Located in the center of Ishpeming the Jasper Ridge Inn is surrounded by outstanding outdoor recreational facilities for fishing, golfing, rock hunting, boating, sightseeing, skiing, luge, snow shoeing, snowmobiling, and much more. Come join us.With the adjacent Jasper Ridge Brewery, the Jasper Ridge Inn offers great lodging, dining and meeting facilities all in one convenient location. Come stay with us and have a great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Jasper Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Ridge Hotel Ishpeming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing