We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A very clean, comfortable room. The employees were very friendly and helpful. A wonderful hot breakfast was available with many choices of things to eat. Good price and a great place to stay. There was coffee in the room as well as in the lobby. The inn also has a pool and hot tub for your enjoyment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCIIronwood, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments about our property.

We have an awesome staff that takes great pride in customer service.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in your travels.

Thank You,

Sue Spets
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    52
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
51
50
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Mt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

FIRST...make sure you have a reservation!.. This place is known to be the "value" in town and sells out nightly!.. Second...DO NOT select the Golden Dragon for your dinner! No longer serving Mexican food as advertised...the term "slow dog on a stick" has a new meaning within the USA after eating from them! (in Singapore, that usually means GOOD FOOD from a street vender...not in this country/town!).. The property is showing it's age from the carpeting and hallway smells - but, the rooms don't suffer from these smells - ours was fresh once the door was closed. Minus the smell issue/age of the carpet...this is a good value in an out of the way spot! The room was VERY clean.

Room Tip: Further to the back is quiet, away from street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were glad to find a vacancy. While probably not originally a Comfort Inn, it was a good find for the night in Ironwood. Seems to do a good business. Fairly quiet. Check-in was easy. Older hotel but huge bonus was earning Choice Privileges points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The UP of Michigan is very sparse so finding a hotel you would think is tough. It is not!! I highly suggest this hotel. The staff was very nice, got us checked in right away and had coupons for a couple of places they suggested for dinner. It is a fairly large hotel and holds quite a few people. Breakfast was fantastic and the room had plenty of seats for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Really, this was a 4, at best--nice property, nice rooms, clean, everything worked. Did NOT have a fridge or nuke, which was OK since we seldom use them.

But we arrived on a summer evening, having only made the reservation the night before. The parking lot was jammed. A dozen Harleys were lined up, facing out, exhausts pointing towards the first-story rooms. Children in bathing suits were running everywhere. As I waited to check in, angry travelers were finding out that, no, we DON'T have anything, booked solid, sorry, try over in Wisconsin.

Recipe for disaster, right?

Well, it was dam near perfect. I understand that the staff does not walk the halls pounding on doors to tell people to quiet down, but SOMETHING was going on here, because it was so quiet that we woke up an hour late, and had to hustle down to get the last of the breakfast.

Which, by the way, was still being restocked, even at 9:00 AM, and the area still being continuously freshened up by staff.

BTW, despite being booked solid, this was still one of the cheapest rates we got on our entire trip.

Good job, folks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdAstraPerEmentitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We especially liked the look of this motel, because it was tastefully decorated with local artifacts, e.g., skis, snowshoes. The motel was very comfortable with especially pleasant staff. The only downside was the white-carb-laden breakfast. This is not unusual, but we keep hoping for better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while just passing through Ironwood on our way to Minnesota from Michigan. I think we were upgraded, because we had a whirlpool tub, and I wish now I had used it, but I planned to swim early in the morning so I was tired and just went to bed.

Bed was comfortable, room was clean. We didn't lack for anything in the room and it was quiet enough. The hotel isn't especially fancy, but it certainly is adequate, and about what is expected in the U. P. for a small-town hotel. We enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was OK. We had dinner at the Maple Wood Grill and it was excellent!

But I was very disappointed when I had checked on the hours of the pool, and I was waiting in my swimsuit at the opening time (7 AM--I like an early swim before breakfast as I have joint pain and it helps me a lot when we are driving all day), to find the maintenance man still cleaning the pool! I asked if I could swim and he told me it would be "at least a half-hour". Since we had to get on the road, I didn't have time to wait another half-hour, and I missed my morning swim.

IF YOU SAY THE POOL WILL BE OPEN AT 7 O'CLOCK, THAT IS WHEN IT SHOULD BE OPEN! The cleaning should be scheduled so that the pool hours can be followed as posted. People should not set an alarm to get up to swim, and find that they cannot do so. It was a deal-breaker for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
0.7 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hurley
Days Inn Hurley
#1 of 3 in Hurley
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cedars Motel
The Cedars Motel
#6 of 11 in Ironwood
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Motel
Royal Motel
#1 of 1 in Ironwood
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 210 E Cloverland Dr, Ironwood, MI 49938-1306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ironwood
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ironwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ironwood
Ironwood Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing