We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Host Cloverland Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

A small complex but the large comfortable rooms have recently been upgraded. It was very quiet & the office staff was great. The owners are readily accessible & they go beyond the call of duty to make your stay comfortable. Note: road construction on the main road through town continues through Nov., 2014 so access to the motel seemed difficult, especially at night. There is a small driveway access through the construction zone, but you have to look for it. There is no breakfast provided but the office has discounts for local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    93
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
68
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I really don't expect much in a hotel/motel when we travel to the Northwoods. I just want a clean place to stay and found just that it the Budget Host. Like the other reviewers have said, the room is huge, furnishings are very dated and the price about $30 cheaper than the other choices.

Random things:
-The bed and pillows were very comfortable.
- The shower curtain was very thin kept sticking to me in the shower.
- I didn't care for all the religious reminders of God in the room and on the signs. I don't think it belongs in a public place where you are paying to stay.
- I went in the little house to return the key at the end of our stay. It was dark and as I tossed the key on the desk, I realized someone was sitting in the dark looking at a computer screen. Really scared me. Please put a light on!

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Utellme716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend and the proprietors were extremely helpful with my husband who is handicapped. Went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed to accommodate my husbands disability. Made sure sidewalks were not slippery and helped to make sure that we could get to our room without any problems. (lots of snow and ice the weekend we were up there). Room was clean, spacious and more than we expected. Proprietor checked with us to make sure we did not need any other assistance during our weekend. Would not think of staying anywhere else when in the area after the excellent treatment we received.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grassymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was relieved to find a place for the weekend during ski season, at a very reasonable price. I did not expect such a fine facility! Although it's been around awhile, it is in excellent condition. My room was very large, larger than many suite hotels. The sink area (outside the bathroom, which I prefer) had a very long counter, nice for laying out toiletries, clothing, etc. The bathroom fixtures were original (what was that tan/pinkish color called, Peachblow?) but in almost perfect condition, no cracks, I could hardly find a ding in the finish. I had seen some reports of old beds and spreads; must have been replaced as mine were excellent. Extremely clean! Owner and helpers (probably family) were very friendly. Owners live on the property. No breakfast, but that's OK.

Room Tip: Second story requires use of staircase, which is enclosed and in fine condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemlockHill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for a long ski weekend. Booked this hotel based on reviews and we were not disappointed. When we checked in I was a little concerned that traffic noise would bother me but it did not. Our room was right on the corner, closest to the road and I did not hear the traffic at all. Rooms must be well insulated because I didn't hear any noise from other rooms either and the placed was booked full. Room was clean and comfortable. Small refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave were nice for snacks or quick meals in the room. Close to restaurants and about 15 minutes from Big Powderhorn and BlackJack ski area. Indianhead is just a little further. Owners are on site and provided information on restaurants and sites in the area. Room rates are reasonable also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayinHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Bay, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

When visiting family and friends in the Ironwood, MI area, we usually stay at Cloverland. The proprietors are friendly and helpful, the rates are reasonable, and the location is perfect. The rooms are spacious and the refrigerator and microwave are appreciated. I highly recommend this place for UP travelers.

Room Tip: We stay on the lower level, and have had no problem with noise from above,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRANDMAL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This place is off to another year of good reviews. It is simple and just right. It isn't overdone. The place must have been built in the 50's and has carried on through the decades like a queen. The owners have been meticulous with the maintenance through the years because it it all works; from the hot water baseboard heat to the original bathroom fixtures. Comfortable beds, quiet, and cozy in -14 degrees. The owners are very nice and seem to enjoy what they do. I haven't seen a paper banner across a toilet in a long time :)

Room Tip: 26 is in a corner. You park outside but have an unlocked vestibule for access which was lovely in s...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for staying with us! It's sure been an ice-cold winter! We always try to ask a guest when their "ETA" is, so we can have the room warm upon arrival. We have many great restaurants in town. Glad you enjoyed Mikes and Breakwater! Thanks for the kind words of encouragement! Please come back again. You're always welcome!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Ironwood
AmericInn Ironwood
#1 of 11 in Ironwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Motel
Royal Motel
#1 of 1 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Cloverland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Cloverland Motel

Property: Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Address: 447 W Cloverland Dr, US 2 West, Ironwood, MI 49938-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ironwood
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ironwood
#3 Family Hotel in Ironwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Cloverland Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Host Inn is centrally located on US Hwy 2 West in Ironwood. Nestled among towering red pines. A short driving distance to major ski hills, Lake Superior, and breathtaking waterfalls!All of our rooms are large, spacious, and contain at least 2 queen sized beds. Microwaves, in-room coffee, cable-TV, small refrigerators, a tub with a shower, hair dryers, and a large vanity area are all “standard equipment” in every room! Choose from convenient main floor rooms, second floor rooms with a front balcony, or quiet corner rooms. All rooms are decorated to resemble more of bedroom than a motel room!W have accommodations for groups. Our largest Suite has 4 Queen beds in 2 adjoining rooms! This Suite sleeps up to 8 people! 2 additional Suites have 2 queen beds PLUS a queen sized hide-a-bed, sleeping up to 6 people! Free Wireless Internet access in all rooms.Ask to stay in one of our decorated theme rooms! For you "fishermen", we offer our "fishing room" so you'll feel especially at home! For newlyweds, sweethearts, or anniversaries, you can extend the romance by staying in our "hearts" room! Our extra-large upstairs Suite is tastefully decorated with a “Cherub” theme. Pictures and statues of Cherubs adorn this spacious room!We have a Large parking lot for snowmobile trailers, etc., Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations for all! All major credit cards accepted.We'll treat you like family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Host Cloverland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Cloverland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing