We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the northwoods!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This little hotel is a jewel. Very clean. Very friendly owners/managers. Even though it is on Route 2 in Ironwood, it is very quiet. I spend three nights here while on a cross-country ski mini-vacation. The property is very close to the ABR ski trails (4 miles), which is where I skied the majority of the time.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet, clean, affordable place to stay while in the Western U.P.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan3262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and for your recommendation! We depend upon guests, such as yourself, and are happy that your skiing vacation was relaxing and fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 252 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a very simple and clean hotel with everything a traveler needs. The owner/staff are extremely helpful, friendly and generous. I was very surprised to find a place like this at such a bargain. Maybe they should raise their rates:) We love it here and will be coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimBoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klcox, Owner at Budget Host Cloverland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We try very hard to maintain a clean, family-oriented, friendly motel! Please come and see us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Ironwood, MI. We planned a long weekend to ski. We viewed a lot of the choices online and chose the Budget Host Cloverland because of cost. We weren't going to be in the room, except for sleeping, so didn't want to spend a lot of money on this part of our trip. Check in was easy, very friendly, offered to help out with anything we might need as well as recommendations for restaurants. The room was clean, beds were comfy, and we had plenty of space in the room for the 4 of us and all of our winter gear. The walls are a bit thin and our room was right by the stairwell, so we could hear the other guests coming and going, but it wasn't real late or very early, so no big deal. If we end up in Ironwood again to ski, I know we'll stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent two nights here. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The room also included a small refrigerator and microwave. The hosts are very friendly and hospitable. You won't find a pool or a spa here, but if you want a comfortable night's stay at a great price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I just stayed at this motel in the large suite with three of my friends and it was such a great experience!! The room was so spacious and affordable. The manager was very friendly and hospitable. He told us the best places to go eat and best places to go for sightseeing, which without a doubt were. There were no obnoxious people to deal with either. I will definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We checked in after dark and left in the AM so we didn't want to spend too much for a night's sleep. This place fit the bill perfectly. We too came here based on previous reviews. It was clean, beds comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMC917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed here many times in the past. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel. The hosts are very friendly and accomodating. Would recommend staying here. No problem with noisy people. Will stay here again. Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginlee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Ironwood
AmericInn Ironwood
#1 of 11 in Ironwood
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cedars Motel
The Cedars Motel
#5 of 11 in Ironwood
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hurley
Days Inn Hurley
#1 of 3 in Hurley
405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Cloverland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Cloverland Motel

Address: 447 W Cloverland Dr, US 2 West, Ironwood, MI 49938-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ironwood
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ironwood
#3 Family Hotel in Ironwood
Price Range: $71 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Cloverland Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Host Inn is centrally located on US Hwy 2 West in Ironwood. Nestled among towering red pines. A short driving distance to major ski hills, Lake Superior, and breathtaking waterfalls!All of our rooms are large, spacious, and contain at least 2 queen sized beds. Microwaves, in-room coffee, cable-TV, small refrigerators, a tub with a shower, hair dryers, and a large vanity area are all “standard equipment” in every room! Choose from convenient main floor rooms, second floor rooms with a front balcony, or quiet corner rooms. All rooms are decorated to resemble more of bedroom than a motel room!W have accommodations for groups. Our largest Suite has 4 Queen beds in 2 adjoining rooms! This Suite sleeps up to 8 people! 2 additional Suites have 2 queen beds PLUS a queen sized hide-a-bed, sleeping up to 6 people! Free Wireless Internet access in all rooms.Ask to stay in one of our decorated theme rooms! For you "fishermen", we offer our "fishing room" so you'll feel especially at home! For newlyweds, sweethearts, or anniversaries, you can extend the romance by staying in our "hearts" room! Our extra-large upstairs Suite is tastefully decorated with a “Cherub” theme. Pictures and statues of Cherubs adorn this spacious room!We have a Large parking lot for snowmobile trailers, etc., Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations for all! All major credit cards accepted.We'll treat you like family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Cloverland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Cloverland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing