We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for the price”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room had everything, including an ironing board and hair dryer. It was VERY clean and quite comfortable. The breakfast is simple: oatmeal, bagels, waffles, coffee and juice. Again, great for the price. The staff was friendly -- daytime and nightime. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Working4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy m, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your great experience! We do our very best to provide our guests with everything in our power to make their stay an enjoyable one! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    32
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
40
25
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for several days visiting my family. Outside the hotel looks run down and outdated. We drove 12 hrs when we arrived around 6pm. Boy were we disappointed, our water was brown and dirty related to some water line work. We were told to run our water for 15 min and it should clear up. This wasn't the case. We had dirty water all night, we had to make a trip to the dollar store just to brush our teeth. The staff mAde no attempts to provide us clean water or offer us a credit towards our stay. Through the week we stayed there were several times we had dirty water and had to take showers at my families home. Also only about half the channels on the cable tv are available to watch, the TV guide by the bedside is very misleading. Evening staff was very pleasant however the day shift manager was very rude concerning our pet being in the room inside a kennel while we went down the road for some subway. We had staff tell us when we checked in it was ok to leave our pet in the room as long as they were well behaved and wasn't bothering other guests. So we kept her in her kennel with the television on and she never made a peep. We received mixed messages and left very unsatisfied overall. We will never stay here again. Since we needed a pet friendly hotel we will be staying at AmericInn from now on. Save yourself the disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy m, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We apologize for your experience; however, the entire staff was equally frustrated with the water issue. There was nothing that we could do, as we were waiting for approval from the city for them to put in a new valve. We could not foresee that a water line was going to break. We had to wait for the city to fix the issue, and we could not use the water either. We were getting updates daily from the city and let the guests know to the best of our knowledge what was going on. Because of this issue, the city as put us back on the main water line, and we are the only business in the immediate area back on the line.
Had you asked for a refund, we would have given you one. As a policy, we are not allowed to give refunds until asked by the guest. There was nothing that required you to stay for the entire duration of your stay, and we work with our competition to insure that everyone is happy. We would have happily called around to find another hotel to go to because of the water issue and given you a refund for the days you didn't stay.
Our pet policy is on the bottom of the form that you sign when you checked in and it says that pets are not allowed to be left in the room alone. We are sorry if there was a misunderstanding in regards to that.
As far as the appearance of our hotel, we work very hard to make it look the best that we can. We clean up garbage outside (most of it isn't even from our hotel), plant flowers, and keep up on various fixes and grass cutting.
Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We wish you would have talked to us more about your frustrations, we would have been happy to do what we could to remedy the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hi There,

I just wanted to thank the staff at America's Best Value Inn for being exceptionally awesome,friendly and welcoming. I got a very friendly smile and welcome from your front desk employee Kortney. Our room was very nice and clean. The bed and pillows were so comfortable! I for sure got a wonderful nights sleep, every night. Thank you once again for being so awesome. I will for sure be returning to stay with you folks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy m, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your awesome experience! We will let Kortney know about the wonderful things you said about her! We train our staff to be friendly and helpful, and we're glad we exceeded your expectations!! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel can fool you, it looks a little rough on the exterior, but the inside is incredible. You won't want to pass this deal up. The lobby is very nice when you walk in, the hotel staff is so kind and caring and will assist you with any need you have. They will go above and beyond to help you. The girls on the front desk for the shifts were so kind and generous with information on were to eat and what to do in the area. I unfortunately did not get to meet the night person. But you did an amazing job on selecting the front staff you have. Incredible! Our room was your typical 2 queens with micro and fridge, but It was so nice and clean, and smelt very good. The bathroom was nice and spacious as well as the room. We loved how much counter space we had in the bathroom, and how well everything was on display in the room. We had plenty of towels which was a nice thing. The continental breakfast in the morning was very nice, they have these wonderful Danishes that are very good. It's plenty enough to start the day off. The prices for the rooms are also wonderful. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling through Ironwood. You get a great night sleep and a nice breakfast as well as coffee all day and night!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the highway and we could not hear any road traffic that we were worried a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy m, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review! We do our very best to please each and every guest the way we did with you! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice little hotel, loved the 2 queen beds. Clean. No foul odors. Nice simple breakfast in the morning. Really loved Crystal who worked the two evening/nights we were there. My 10 year old made multiple trips to the desk to ask her about places to eat that were open at night. She kept sending him back with maps and ideas! I think he made it a point to stop at the desk every time we arrived back at the hotel just to say hi to her. What a kind front desk clerk. If I had to recommend anything, I'd say upgrade the boingy bouncy mattresses.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy m, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience! We are excited to hear that our front desk staff was friendly and helpful for you and your family! New Queen beds are on the way so if you decide to stay with us again, we hope that you will have a better nights rest! We would love to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a budget hotel in an area where that's pretty much all there is to choose from, and "for what it is" this is actually an excellent property. Don't let the modest exterior fool you. Clean and welcoming lobby area, friendly staff, clean corridors, clean and comfortable rooms, firm beds, good water pressure and temperature, good climate control...basically, everything you need. I ding'd them a star because electrical outlets in the room are indeed scarce and not readily accessible...a 2014 must, even at a budget chain.

Insider tip: Sign up for the "Value Club" BEFORE you book your room...it's a free sign-up and provides better discounts than even AAA/AARP.

I would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy m, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving your positive comments! For the few extras that we may lack, we certainly do our best to make up for it in our cleanliness! We thank you for your eagerness to recommend us and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I had traveled to Ironwood to visit a very good friend. When I checked into the hotel the staff at the counter was nothing short of amazing. Such a friendly staff that you have I was pleasently surprised how they go out of their way to make you feel so welcomed and appreciated. They get to know you and talk to you as a person, not just someone who is filling a room in their hotel. I checked into my room and my room was one of the cleanest rooms i've ever seen in a hotel. The housekeeping is kept up day to day, and they clean their rooms very well when someone checks out. The room was spacious and had plenty of space for all my luggage. The bathroom was spacious and great counter space for all my make up and hair appliances. The breakfast they serve is plenty for you to start your morning off, and the waffle machine is my favorite. I would reccomend this place to anyone who is traveling through Ironwood. It feels like home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy m, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so incredibly much for your amazing review! We greatly appreciate guests like you! We are excited that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we were able to provide you with everything you needed! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
0.8 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Hurley
Days Inn Hurley
#1 of 3 in Hurley
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cedars Motel
The Cedars Motel
#6 of 11 in Ironwood
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Motel
Royal Motel
#1 of 1 in Ironwood
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
Address: 160 E Cloverland Dr, Ironwood, MI 49938-1228 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing