We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than Expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Ironwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmericInn Ironwood
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Superior, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

How can you make a hotel feel different from every other hotel you have ever stayed at? I don't know but our stay at the AmericInn was better than any other hotel stay I have ever had.

The room was clean and everything seemed up-to-date. Nothing looked old and used. The heater/AC unit was quite and actually kept the room at the desired temperature. There was adequate space for luggage and all the stuff my wife insisted we bring whenever we travel with the kids.

This was the first hotel that I have been in where the pool was not the just above freezing. The kids loved the warm pool. There is not a kiddie pool however the little one also enjoyed the big pool. Everything was clean and well kept.

The breakfast was above and beyond what most hotels offer; many choices and each tasted great, yes I think I tried them all. If you want something more, there is a great restaurant just across the parking lot.

The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The Ironwood/Hurley area has a lot to offer in the winter and the summer. Just ask someone at the desk and they will go out of their way to find what you are looking for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Owner at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Wow, thank you for taking the time to share all your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even happier that we are the best hotel you have ever stayed at. Come back and see us again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    67
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
118
76
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've stayed here a few times, & each time the staff are very friendly, the beds are so comfy, nice spacious pool area, love the decor in the main entry makes it feel cozy. The best breakfast, not only was I glad to see bacon as a choice, but delicious biscuits & gravy too, I was in Heaven!
Their pet friendly rooms are very nice for your furry friend to stay with you.
My 2 year old son loved the spacious room we stayed in do he could run & play.
Can't wait for our next visit!
-Leslie

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Owner at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Wow thank you for taking the time to post your awesome review. Bacon in is a great addition to the breakfast on top of all the other yummy options, we are glad you enjoyed it. Come and get some more R&R next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I booked the conference room for a birthday party and it was the most terrible experience I have ever had. Marci was rude. This was mostly 12 year old kids, and believe me you don't rip things out of kids hands and hauler at them. The counter was sticky like pop had been spilled on it and she just said it was the granite. Funny after she cleaned it, it was no longer sticky. After a few other problems, a pregnant lady about 35 came into the pool area, and she stopped her and said " I hope in your condition you are not planning on using the hot tub or sauna". I cannot believe the things that came out of her mouth. This is very bad for business. That may explain why there was maybe 5 people in the whole motel. I would recommend you also check your bill as I was quoted one thing and charged more. I was never offered a receipt as I paid by credit card and would expect any good motel to offer one. The room overall needed repairs to the roof as tiles were missing and cords were hanging out. There was buttons missing on the heater so only one was really adjustable. If you are booking a party, please look elsewhere. This is not kid friendly at all. Kids should be able to splash in a pool without getting yelled at from management when there is no other guest in the pool room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maui19822002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Owner at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are sorry for the bad experience that you had during your birthday party. We try and manage the parties the best that we can. When quoting rates we do not include the 11% tax in the quote, I see you were charged the price for the party plus the 11% tax, I’m sorry for the confusion that created. We are taking your feedback seriously and we plan to improve from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly service the room we stayed in was very clean and we had a very nice stay. Kids had a blast in the clean warm pool and us adults had a yummy dinner at a restraunt recomended by staff coulnt have asked for a better weekend getaway

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Owner at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful getaway. Come see us again in the future for some more rest and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This is the second year that I have stayed here to go skiing. The service is great and the breakfast is wonderful. It is very close to all of the ski areas.
I am very happy with the overall quality of this hotel. Also they went above and beyond by finding my sons DS and mailing it to us after we forgot it in the hotel.
We will be there next year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Owner at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Wow thank you for another great review. I was happy I could help with getting the DS back to your son. Have a great summer and we will see you here next ski season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed the weekend for skiing at nearby resorts. Clean hotel with excellent service. Plenty of sitting space in the lobby area to relax and enjoy company of a group. Pool was nice sized but perhaps a bit too warm, if that sounds logical. We stayed here last winter for late season skiing. Same positive experience.

Room Tip: Tip: Stay in room near lobby. Rooms at opposite end of hotel have room doors banging when the exter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Owner at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for returning again this year. You can always count on us for great service and a clean, comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Can't say enough about the great time we had spending two nights here on a short ski weekend vacation. The atmosphere in the lobby was fun and like sitting in your living room at home. Customer service from the front desk to room service was fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank GailGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Owner at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that felt right at home while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
1.3 mi away
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
1.6 mi away
Royal Motel
Royal Motel
#1 of 1 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ironwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ironwood

Property: AmericInn Ironwood
Address: 1117 E Cloverland Dr, Ironwood, MI 49938-1601
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ironwood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ironwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Ironwood 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Ironwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ironwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing