We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Security is ignored here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Ironwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Ironwood
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Security is ignored here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

On our trip to Canada stayed here on the return from Ontario. Previous stay in Baudette,Mn was better than this one at a much lower rate. When I questioned the rate I was told each Inn is independly owned and sets it own rate which is fine..Stayed in a King room which was clean and in good condition overall. However , the security bar on the room door had been pulled from the frame and the screws were undone. Probably from someone slamming the door with the security bar in place. Called the front desk and told the clerk to send me a Phillips screwdriver since no maintence people on premises at that time. When the clerk brougth the screwdriver I found one of the screws to be stripped and would not tighten. Told the clerk who said she would notify maintence to repair it.

The next morning I went thru the end exit to move my car closer to make loading easier. Upon return I found mo key necessary to enter the motel. Upon closer inspection I noticed about six inches of duct tape had been affixed to the door to keep the security latch from engaging properly. It appeared to have been in place for some time. When I asked the desk clerk to speak to the owner I was introduced to the Manager, a nice young lady who informed me the owner was not a local resident. I mentioned the problem of security and that it appeared to be long standing , she indicated it had been for some time and someone from Chicage had to come and do the repair. I question why the duct tape was in place if the lock was defective.?

The good news is the staff of the motel were very nice and prompt to do what they could to address my concerns as well as being truthful when it would have been easier to make excuses. Good news is a nice indoor pool area with an adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. I was made aware of the issues you experienced at the property and I can assure you that we take all of our guest's security very seriously. Maintenance is working to insure that these items are all taken care of. Please give us another chance to prove that our number one goal is to exceed the standards of our guests and that security is a number one priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    67
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
117
75
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eveleth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed during a busy summer weekend for a family event. We found our rooms to be clean and pleasant, and were happy with the breakfast choices in the morning. Everything was very convenient. But what really made our trip, was the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and they made a special effort to make our visit a good one. There was a big fire fighter event going on in Ironwood, so the hotel was full and busy, yet the staff managed to make time for some special touches and conversations- very good natured and fun. We will recommend this hotel to others and will stay here again.

Room Tip: My aunt used an accessible room on the first floor with and the bathroom and roll-in shower were ade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. As we take pride in providing the best customer service possible, we are so pleased that this was such an important part of your experience. Come back and spend some time with us this fall to take in the breathtaking colors Ironwood and our surrounding area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Got one of the king rooms with the two-person whirlpool. Everything about this hotel was just wonderful. It was clean and super quiet and decorated well.

They have a computer in the lobby you can use to check your email and such, which is always nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyssaJones37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We arrived early at the Americin Ironwood and were told our room was waiting for us already. We were delighted in the cleaniness of the room along with how modern and up-to-date is was. The bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was beyond anything we expected. Thank you for a great two nights. If we are in the area again, we would definitely stay at the Americinn Ironwood!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel! We are so happy we made your stay enjoyable and hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were in Ironwood for a family reunion 7-13 through 7-15-12. We were able to check in an hour early, which was nice, since we were traveling with a baby. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was great. The pool was a bit cool, but we didn't tell the staff. We stayed in the king suite with the whirlpool. Although the whirlpool/spa didn't get used, it was nice to have a lot of room for the four of us. One piece of advice: Do NOT use your home a/c setting as a guide! We found that the most comfortable setting was 62, which is a LOT colder than what we set our a/c at home (near Chicago). The little unit is undersized for that room. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we ever come back to Ironwood.

Room Tip: It's a 2 story hotel, with no elevator. Keep that in mind if you can't climb stairs. Try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and the helpful information you provided to us. Please come back again and try out that whirpool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here two nights in June. Before we even left our home in Arizona, when making the reservation over the phone, I got a very favorable impression from talking to the manager, Marcy Thomas. I felt positive about the place before I even saw it. We were warmly welcomed by Marcy, who was extremely efficient, and after we went to our room, she called to make sure everything was to our liking. She seemed very sincere. We talked to her and other staff members several times. All were great. We spent a little more money and got the room with the Jacuzzi. Great idea! The indoor pool is also very nice. We'd definitely stay here again and in fact, can't wait to go back to the cool North Woods and see all the friendly folks again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so proud of Marcy and her team and it is so nice when our guests take the time to share their comments. Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

My family had originally intended to stay at another Americinn but when we arrived there was a wedding taking over the entire hotel. We called this hotel at about 7:00 asking for a room and they were friendly and understanding. They gave us a free upgrade to a bigger room because of our trouble. The room was comfortable and quiet but what impressed me the most was the consistently excellent front desk service. Every time we entered the loby we were greeted with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaryllis6188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake D, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that our staff made your stay extra enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
1.3 mi away
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
1.6 mi away
Royal Motel
Royal Motel
#1 of 1 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ironwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ironwood

Property: AmericInn Ironwood
Address: 1117 E Cloverland Dr, Ironwood, MI 49938-1601
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ironwood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ironwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Ironwood 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Ironwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ironwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing