We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best hotel in Ironwood”
Review of AmericInn Ironwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Ironwood
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Friendly staff & nice accommodations. Pool area has sauna, hot tub, and pool table. Good free breakfast, too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NukeTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 328 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

5 on value! Walk to dinner,movies,laundry. As clean as the come up here-and spotless compared to the big chains. Co-Ed sauna and nice pool, large hot tub too. Sorry to have only one night.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yesandnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

After reading the reviews of this hotel I really wasn't expecting much but I was honestly surprised by this hotel. After a long drive from Green Bay up to Ironwood, this hotel was a good sight to sore eyes. The staff were friendly and offered us a king size room with a whirlpool bath, but it was expensive at $101! But being exhausted and wanting to stay in Ironwood, we happily hadn't over the cash.
No lift and the room being on the 2nd floor up a nice staircase, the room was large with a very comfortable bed, dressing area & bathroom. And a whirlpool in the corner of the bedroom! It suddenly felt like a dodgy honeymoon suite in Vegas!
But it was great, the room was comfortable and the location was perfect for the Porcupine Mountains.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lady_britts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy7200, General Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2010

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the AmericInn Lodge & Suites. I've passed your comments on to the entire AmericInn Ironwood Team and as a team we would like to say thanks and have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Marcy Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I loved them very much. They had cookies, a wonderful recreation area, warm staff and a wonderful atmosphere. The rooms were nice, the only thing one could possibly say bad about them is they have spotty internet service. If that's all youre concerned about then really that's not too bad.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank KarlyC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We are a well traveled family and found the AmericInn Ironwood to be a nice spot for a quick stayover. (We were in town for a relatives birthday). Staff were friendly and rooms were clean. Kids like the free breakfast however you have to get there early otherwise it's total chaos (people actually lined up to get free muffins, oj-- I mean, this is not the Ritz!) and because our room was above the lobby it was a bit noisy in the morning. Beds were comfortable and the children enjoyed the pool. I liked the fact that there was a laundrymat convenitly located right next door-- normally do not do laundry when on the road but this place was nice. Pinball machines and even a tanning bed! Recommendation to the hotel staff is to promote more of the destination. We found there was a lot to in the area to see and do just by asking other local people. Best spot for dinner-- Bell Chalet in Hurley (just 5 minutes away.) My husband is from NYC and I am from Chicago and we thought our cities offered the best pizza. No Way! The Bell Chalet pizza is delicious. Too, don't forget to check out Copper Peak and Little Girls Point (Lake Superior). Views are breathtaking !

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank rherzan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This location was very nice. The rooms looked very fresh. Staff were very helpful.

Pool and hot tub were in great shape. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DynaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy7200, Manager at AmericInn Ironwood, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2010

Thank you for your great review about our Hotel. I am glad to read that you got to use our pool and hot tub area and were happy with them. Thank you for the comment on our fresh rooms the nice new 37" flat screen TV's were a nice new addition to all of our rooms. If you are ever in the Ironwood MI area again I hope you stop in for another nights stay and our staff will be glad to see you for a return visit. Become our fan on Facebook and watch for discounts.

Thanks again,
Marcy Thomas
General Manager
AmericInn Hotel Ironwood MI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

BE AWARE! If you don't have a problem with a hotel that takes
animals, you will love this motel! Now, as a owner of dogs
and cats I am an animal owner, but do not SLEEP with them.
After noticing a rather big dog (on a leash) in the swimming pool
area, my friends and I were shocked to see a lobby full
of people with dogs on leashes, some being carried. Some-
how did we wander into a dog convention? No, this hotel is
PET FRIENDLY. No problem here if they advertised somewhere
on the site, but no notice in sight. Since there is not much
between Ironwood and Marquette for lodging we felt the need
to stay but expressed our concern to owner Jess Desantos,
who stated he turned more people who had pets than those
who did not. He reassured us that the carptet was steam cleaned after each animal use, which I find hard to believe, as
most rooms get minimal sweeping if any. What about accidents,
fleas? At an Americinn in Rice Lake, Wisconsin there was
a $100.00 fee if an animal was to be found to be in the room.
As I said previously, I LOVE animal, I have animal, I just don't
care to share the same bed with them. Please just put a
sign where it can been seen to make the public aware of your
policy before they check in.

2  Thank snaketteSaginaw_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Hurley
Days Inn Hurley
#1 of 3 in Hurley
407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
0.2 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cedars Motel
The Cedars Motel
#6 of 11 in Ironwood
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ironwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ironwood

Address: 1117 E Cloverland Dr, Ironwood, MI 49938-1601
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ironwood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ironwood
Price Range: $98 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ironwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Ironwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ironwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing