We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Don and GG's Food and Spirits
Ranked #12 of 29 Restaurants in Ironwood
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on Saturday night. Took forever for our server to acknowledge us. Friendly, nice young man, just he appeared to be all by himself waiting tables. Meanwhile, two girls behind the bar just talking to each. They were out of the appetizer we wanted. Entrees were fine but nothing to get real excited about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    27
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where are the ribs?”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I read reviews that said the ribs were amazing here. On our visit, no ribs on the menu. No bartender behind the bar and the person who appeared to be the "manager" didn't manage anything. Extremely disappointed. Expected much more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly atmosphere, and moderately priced.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The wait staff were well trained and very helpful in making selections from the menu. Food was prepared well and the prices were moderate. Didn't get a chance to try the Fish Fry as it is only available on Friday. Maybe next year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_belmas, Owner at Don and GG's Food and Spirits, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words!

We are glad that you enjoyed your meal here at GG's. You must try our true haddock fish fry next time you are in the area! Our fresh Lake Superior Whitefish recipes will blow you out of the water too.

We'll be looking forward to having you as a guest again!

GG's Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,001 helpful votes
“Great value and great service.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lovely small local restaurant. Excellent service that was genuinely friendly and helpful unlike the robotic, insincere service we find all too often in other restaurants. The other night our server looked as tough as nails, was unfriendly and was so disinterested that she was looking out the window when explaining specials...she didn't think I saw!! All the staff here are among the best we have experienced in the States.

The burgers were recommended and so we tried two types...the classic and the cheese curl. Both were very good indeed and both came with home made fries that were delicious and you could taste the difference from frozen awful fries. We had a small issue with the temperature of the food but this was sorted.

Drinks are very reasonably priced and my $2 tap beer at Don and GG's was welcome when compared to the $9 I paid in Churchills in North Bay!!

We enjoyed our visit and would for sure go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_belmas, Owner at Don and GG's Food and Spirits, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our restaurant! We have been putting many hours of work to make many improvements to our 'small local restaurant.'

Our home made fries have always been a hit. A decision was made to upgrade to a higher quality potato for even BETTER fries for our burgers and sandwiches. Our french fry seasoning is a signature that you will only find here at GG's! The Curd Burger that was mentioned is our #1 selling burger!

The value of food here is unbeatable in the area. Home made ingredients and exclusive recipes set us apart from the rest and keep prices low. We also support local business (Ironwood Co-op, Bread of Life Bakery, etc) in an effort to keep money in our community.

Again, thank you for your review


GG's Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Decent dishes but almost raw fries. Service was also blah. Not good or bad, just meh overall. Drinks were incredibly cheap though so if you're just out of a cocktail or two they make them very strong and for dirt cheap.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don and GG's Food and Spirits also viewed

Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Don and GG's Food and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing