We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the U.P.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay in the U.P.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the AmericInn in Iron River on our way home from Yellowstone. My husband had business in Iron River, so we decided to just add the stop on to the end of our trip.
This was the second time we stayed at an AmericInn, and once again, we were not disappointed.
The rooms were clean and roomy. We did not make it to breakfast on time, so I can't comment on the food, but the area was very clean. The cookies and ice water at the check-in desk were a nice surprise, our daughter loved that.
There was painting being done during our visit, but it did not inconvenience us at all. The pool, hot tub, and sauna were nice to use after our long drive.
My husband's company may be doing business in Iron River in the near future, and the woman at the front desk was very helpful in giving him information for booking for his employees longer term needs.
Everyone we came in contact with was very kind and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the staff was friendly and helpful. I am glad you enjoyed our pool area and your daughter enjoyed the cookies. Thank you for choosing the AmericInn of Iron River for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    50
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
77
32
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladwin
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay. You couldn't ask for better staff to assist with your needs. Our kids really enjoyed the pool and hot tub. I wish there were more things to do in the immediate area for our kids to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and all the amenities we offer. Our bowling alley burned down unfortunately but we do have several walking, biking and hiking trails along with several water falls. A fun day picnicing might be some fun for the kids. We hope you will visit us again. Thank you for choosing the AmericInn of Iron River for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel was very clean and welcoming. The front desk staff were always helpful and friendly. The guest room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing almost too much to pick from. Great hotel would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to see the staff was helpful and friendly and your expectations were all met. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The inn is nice and average, but has one of the hardest beds I've ever been on. Asides from that, it's like any other inn, including free wifi and a pool. The location could have been better, only because the locals seem to be a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased overall you had a good stay. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the beds. I hope you enjoyed all of our amenities during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a nice hotel, and likely the only chain around this area if you care about points. The rooms are average, but clean, and the hotel is centrally located in Iron River. This is a beautiful area, and worth a visit if you enjoy nature!

The breakfast on my first morning was kaput; there were no eggs, no sausage, etc. I had to go get a McMuffin even though I paid for breakfast. Also, two of the 'clean' towels in my room did not look clean to me. Otherwise, the hotel is what you expect and want.

Riverside Pizzeria is one block away for some great Yooper ambiance, and be sure to visit Scott's Subs a few blocks away for excellent subs, pizza, and ice cream!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senior_Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast is served from 6-10am, I am sorry you missed it and hope on your next stay you can enjoy it all. Thank you for choosing the AmericInn for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Honestly the price that they are charging should be paid in chicago where some of the ski trips are coming from. The only difference between here and the other motel in town is that they have a pool. If you can get by with a hot shower, you can get a room for, and i am not exaggerating, 1/2 to 1/3 of the cost of this room. in this motel you get to look out on a "nice" city street and parking lot instead of a beautiful snow covered lake.

Room Tip: Go to the Lakeshore Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking to time to review our hotel. I am sorry you felt our prices were to high. We feel we are competitively priced with the other motels in town. Our hotel offers a pool, sauna, hot tub, 24 hour staffing, exercise room, business center, complimentary hot breakfast etc. so there is a price difference from motels. However, we want all our travelers to enjoy Iron County and be comfortable where they lodge so I am pleased you found Lakeshore, it;s a wonderful place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed again at the AmericInn in Iron River MI. Always greeted by a warm and courteous staff. Rooms very clean and quiet. Nice amenities include a microwave and refrigerator in the room and a nice breakfast buffet including waffles. I did not however have them but my son said they were good. Pool and sauna. Only complaint there is the high level of chlorine in the pool but perhaps I was in when they just charged the pool? Beds were firm and three pillows on each bed. Not sure what an earlier post said about no cable but they had cable and a very decent selection of channels. Nice location downtown on US 2 and right next to the ORV and snowmobile trail if one is interested in this. Many different venues within walking distance and a great thin crust pizza at Riverside nearby. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: When traveling with a family consider one of the whirlpool suites as they have a seperate room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiseplanner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and pool area. We do have a nice selection on our cable channels and now they have even added more. Thank you for choosing the AmericInn of Iron River for your lodging needs and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iron River
2.8 mi away
Chicaugon Lake Inn
Chicaugon Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Iron River
28 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeshore Motel
Lakeshore Motel
#2 of 4 in Iron River
82 reviews
22.2 mi away
Doll's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River
Address: 40 E Adams St, PO Box 308, Iron River, MI 49935-1544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing