We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have never had a bad experience!”
Review of Lakeshore Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeshore Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Its hard to top all the great reviews that LakeShore already has, but there is one comment that has yet to be said. As a family with a teenage boy and girl, its hard to find anything that they enjoy doing as a family. But, when I mention that we are planning a trip to Iron River and are staying at LakeShore they actually get excited. We get to get away and spend some time together in the outdoors, but the Wifi enables the kids to stay "connected" with their friends when we have down time. The kids enjoy the fishing in the warmer months and snowboarding at Brule in the winter. Always a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 85 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

My family and friends have been meeting at the Lake shore Hotel for about four years now.
On beautiful Ice Lake ,The owners are the best, just like family .Claudia and Steele will make your stay memorable. The fishing is great, but please don't tell anyone. Did I say the rooms are always clean and neat. Convenient close to town and restaurants. A must in fall winter or summer. So stop by have a chat with Claudia if you ever stay, you will find yourself returning often.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraftonGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We have relatives and property in Iron County so we stay at the Lakeshore 8-10 times a year. For the last 20 years, it has been THE place our extended family stays at when there are vacations, reunions or funerals. Here are the reasons our family likes it: reasonable prices, very clean rooms, great continental breakfast, views and access to beautiful Ice Lake, and 3 minute drive to Iron River (which has restaurants, shops, movies, etc.). However, the one difference which sets this motel apart from any other we have every stayed at are the owners, Steele and Claudia. They are "like staying with family." They are friendly and will try to assist you in any way possible weather it is making a recommendation for dinner or lending you a tool to repair your car. Over the years, we have gotten to know many of their other "regualr guests" so having coffee with them in the mornings is a bonus - great conversations & friendships. They recently added wifi, microwaves and refrigerators. My husband and I have traveled extensively for work over the past 30 years, staying at some of the most posh hotels/resorts in the country. In comparison, we thoroughly enjoy returning to the friendly, clean and relaxing atmosphere of Lakeshore Motel. If you are in the UP, it doesn't get much better than Lakeshore Motel.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank murphydog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

I did a weekend trip to Iron River to scuba dive Fortune pond a mine that has closed and is a great location with great vis and depths and nice structure to dive and ease of access and no charge to enter is down the road.
The hotel is a older place,my room was neat and clean with 70's colors but neat and clean,free wireless & cable on the edge of town and location is on Ice Lake and was quiet.
.In A.M. the owners put out a great Continental breakfast and all the coffee you need!
For the price this location is well worth it as my friends stayed in town at a name brand hotel and paid 3 times the rate!
I will be back as the area is so nice wow the fall colors were just starting-wild life like deer-turkeys-porcupines and loons seen daily.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dive7mmwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I love staying in the cute little cabins!!! It's so rustic, but you're still close to everything in downtown Iron River. The beds were alright, everything was really clean, but Claudia is the whole reason my stays at the LakeShore are always so enjoyable:) I love getting up in the morning, having coffee, a little chit-chat, and some honey buns and donuts!!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coffee1anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We rolled into town late at night, and chose the Lakeshore solely on proximity to our job site in town. And what a lucky find, right of fhe Lake as the name suggests, the friendliest host/hostess I have ever had, clean rooms at a great rate. In the morning some locals have coffee in the lobby that feels more like your living room at home than the hotel, I cannot say enough about the hospitality and "mom and pop" feel this place has. If your in Iron River, this is the place to stay. And I have stayed at hotels all across the nation for years, this was by far the best local inn!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lidja007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Always stayed somewhere else till this last time. By chance I booked a last minute trip for business.No problem booking, owners very friendly and price very reasonable!!! Our view was right on Ice Lake. Eagles and wildlife passing right in front of our window to the beautiful view of the lake. Rooms clean and will be staying again soon!!
The Kelly's

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank natashaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iron River
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River
6.4 mi away
Chicaugon Lake Inn
Chicaugon Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Iron River
30 reviews
21.8 mi away
Doll's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Motel

Address: 1257 Lalley Rd, Iron River, MI 49935-8122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Price Range: $68 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeshore Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeshore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeshore Hotel Iron River
Lakeshore Motel Iron River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing