We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Getaway”
Review of Lakeshore Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeshore Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Reviewed February 26, 2013

At Lakeshore
*Totally quiet during the night = great sleep
*Bedding, Bathroom, Refrigerator - all clean as a whistle
*Breakfast - nice and simple but good options such as muffins, whole grain cereals, juice
*Lake availability - was able to snowshoe on the lake - great workout
*Ski slope - Easy to get to Brule and saved a lot of money staying at Lakeshore so I could afford the lift tickets!
P.S. I do not rate high unless it is above my expectations. Lakeshore did not disappoint me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Lakeshore Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 83 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Lakeshore Motel last weekend while snowboarding at Ski Brule. The decor may be dated, but some may see the retro charm. The motel is pristine and the rooms are spacious. The couple who own the motel were very friendly. There's a beautiful view of the lake and the location is convenient to Iron River and Ski Brule. The room was very affordable and included a microwave and small refrigerator. We had a nice continental breakfast with one of the owners providing light-hearted morning conversation. I will definitely be staying at the Lakeshore again when I'm in the Iron River area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Lakeshore this weekend while skiing at Brule. This was one of the best experiences I've had at a hotel at this value. The cost to stay here is such an incredible value for what you get. The cleanliness of the room, quiet/quaintness, view and location on the lake, and wonderful owners added so much to our ski weekend. There is absolutely no reason to stay at the chain hotel nearby when you can pay much less, get a well taken care of room, and get a much more unique experience at Lakeshore. Don't let the initial view of the motel fool you, it's much more pleasant inside, and the outdoor adventures nearby and the local charm will make it a great time! I can't stress enough the tranquility and quiet atmosphere, which you rarely find in hotels!

The owners were simply amazing and very nice. Made us feel so welcome.

Bathroom - water heat was very touchy in shower, but very minor issue. Outdated but who cares!

Rooms with two Queen beds were very good sized. Had small table and a few swivel chairs in other parts of room, which were very handy. Beds weren't super comfortable but exceeded expectations for price.

Good flat screen TVs with satellite. Also had WIFI.

Are outside was BEAUTIFUL. Right on the lake, perfect tranquil scenery in the winter.

Very nice, small continental breakfast every morning. Unexpected bonus for the cost to stay.

Room Tip: Get the double bed rooms even if you don't need the 2nd bed. Bigger room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraMiller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been staying here for years! Some rooms accept dogs. Always very clean and very nice owners! Love the swivel chair and ottoman in each room - great for reading late at night! Recently rooms were furnished with new pillows, which are great for sleeping. Didn't even have to bring in my own from the car! Two buildings, one on Ice Lake and the other across from the building on the lake. Very quiet location - best in Iron River!

Room Tip: Motel is nicer than cabins, but cabins are away from everyone and are better if you have a pet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROT810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Past reviews are all accurate. Would be a 5, but the room was a little cramped. Great value. Family business with small, older rooms that are very clean, quiet and comfortable. Fridge and small microwave in the room. Small flat screen TV. Located on right on Ice Lake about a mile from town, so sunrise (and moonrise!) over the steaming lake was a real treat. Standard continental breakfast in the very homey lobby area. Wonderful owners and staff. Really enjoyed our short stay and plan on staying here again for our next visit. I definitely recommend it for those who are want a nice place while enjoying the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeverUnpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lakeshore Motel is an older "mom and pop" facility. The room we had was smaller (as many older motels are), and the bathroom fixtures older, but all was very clean, and the bed was quite comfortable, with a new mattress and chair in the room. WiFi worked well, breakfast is included, though we didn't try it. The view is tops - Ice Lake, in September has some great colors around it! Friendly owners, and a very inexpensive stay (about $50+) make this a great value. We will definately stay here when we are in Iron River again.

Room Tip: There are two buildings - we were in room 30, a building across the parking lot from the office, but...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just stayed one night, but if we had to be in the area longer, we would definitely stay here! The owners are very friendly and pleasant, and really make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and a decent enough size. The lake was just outside the back of our room, and the view in the morning with the mist on the lake was marvelous. They have a great breakfast in the office, too. It was fun having breakfast with others staying at the motel. Thanks for a great experience in the U.P.! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iron River
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River
3.2 mi away
Chicaugon Lake Inn
Chicaugon Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Iron River
29 reviews
18.6 mi away
Doll's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Motel

Address: 1257 Lalley Rd, Iron River, MI 49935-8122
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Price Range: $68 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeshore Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeshore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeshore Hotel Iron River
Lakeshore Motel Iron River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing