We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room and a Good Price”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
GreenLeadersGold level
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
220 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Room and a Good Price”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This EconoLodge is an older hotel which has been renovated. Everything was good and the price was right. It is not a great place, but the price is right. The breakfast is a little below average. In short you can do worse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank You for choosing the Econo Lodge in Iron Mountain. I wanted to let you know that we have upgraded our breakfast options and have added some amenities as well. If you are ever in the area again, please stop in and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
21
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I could not believe the quality of the room for what I paid. New carpet, microwave and refrigerator in the room. The beds were very comfortable and my room was a single and had a Jacuzzi tub with power jets.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were on the main floor which in the front is the second floor and in the back is th...
See more room tips
Green Features: There is a restaurant next door which has excellent food and when you show your room key card you get a 20% discount on your bill.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieN223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm with us regarding our new rooms. We take great pride in offering an affordable rate for a high quality product/service. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We got a room at this hotel through Priceline for $55 and all I can say is, you get what you pay for. The room was tiny and the only view was of the side of an adjacent building five feet away. The room had been recently remodeled with paint and carpet, but the bathroom and sink and fixtures remained out of the 1950s. All night long, music wafted up from somewhere (the lobby below us maybe?). The desk chair broke as soon as I tried to move it, and the front desk staff's first reaction was to threaten to charge me for damaging their furniture. At least THAT didn't happen. I don't know what other options there are in Iron Mountain but I don't think I'll be back to this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear MadMatthew,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations this fourth of July weekend. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Danielle Hoaglund
General Manager
EconoLodge
906.776.8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

They recently remodeled many of their rooms since I've last stayed here. New beds, carpet, furniture, TVs and bathtubs with jets.

Very nice for the price you pay. If you're a diamond member with Choice Hotels like I am, 40+ stays per year, you get a free room upgrade and can potentially get a $125/ night suite for like $52 inc taxes! Beat that Priceline!

Their staff is very nice. Even though their breakfast doesn't start until 6am, they said they would set up early for me at 5:30 when I had to leave for work.
Very nice hotel that puts customers first with a great price for their rooms and great quality of service. I'd rather stay here than the other choice hotel in Iron Mountain; Comfort Inn, which charges at least $76/ night for rooms and they're not as nice as the Econo Lodge rooms. Their staff is nice too, but I think I'll keep my $30!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corrigan004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Corrigan-
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such great feedback. We sincerely appreciate your kind words as well as your business. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to better serve you in the future, and we look forward welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

the econo lodge staff is the friendliest and most courteous I have ever encountered. The pool is very nice and the rooms are excellent and spotless! overall a very good place to stay for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZarnoldE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear ZarnoldE-

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Danielle Hoaglund
General Manager
EconoLodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was in town on business and booked the Econo Lodge. The staff and hotel made my trip much easier and more comfortable. The rooms and furniture have been updated recently. WiFi signal was solid and helped me get a lot of work done. The room looked great and the bed was comfortable. The pool is a decent size and there is a hot tub. The front desk keeps fresh baked cookies on hand and they really go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. With my military discount, the room was an even better deal! Thanks Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south/east wing are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HT8541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear HT8541-

We at EconoLodge greatly appreciate your business and strive to make your stay comfortable and easy every time. We value our guest's opinions as it is a very helpful insight on what we are doing right, as well as what we can do better. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope to see you again soon (where we will have our fresh cookies ready for you!)

Respectfully,
Danielle Hoaglund
General Manager
EconoLodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a little getaway in March. It was quiet, but the service was outstanding! And the room was WAY better than I was expecting. We stayed in room 208, which was newly remodeled and had jets in the tub! The king sized bed was so luxurious, and you can't beat the value! The pool area and hot tub were small, but we felt as if we had it all to ourselves!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschultz2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience with us...Insight like yours helps make our days a little brighter when we know we were able to provide you with the quality stay and service you deserve! We also appreciate your feedback about our hotel as it helps future guests to make an informed decision when choosing lodging accommodations. Again, thank you for your business and we hope to see you in the future!

Respectfully,

Danielle M. Hoaglund
General Manager
EconoLodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iron Mountain hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#4 of 11 in Iron Mountain
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Iron Mountain
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Iron Mountain
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
1.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
#7 of 11 in Iron Mountain
19 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Iron Mountain
Super 8 Iron Mountain
#6 of 11 in Iron Mountain
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1609 S Stephenson Ave, Iron Mountain, MI 49801-3635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family/business friendly hotel is located in the South Central area of Upper Peninsula Michigan. We offer a variety of 57 clean, comfortable, and newly renovated rooms with friendly service at a great competitive rate! While staying at our EconoLodge in Iron Mountain, MI, you will receive the kind of quality and service you can expect from a leader. Our company is always evolving as the needs of our guest change, and we try to provide each and every guest with the comforts of home and a memorable experience. We provide a competitive and fair rate for a easy travel, easy on your wallet, and an easy choice. CHOICE PRIVILEGES MEMBERS WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Iron Mountain
Iron Mountain Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing