We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Room I've ever had for my Buck”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I could not believe the quality of the room for what I paid. New carpet, microwave and refrigerator in the room. The beds were very comfortable and my room was a single and had a Jacuzzi tub with power jets.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were on the main floor which in the front is the second floor and in the back is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieN223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm with us regarding our new rooms. We take great pride in offering an affordable rate for a high quality product/service. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We got a room at this hotel through Priceline for $55 and all I can say is, you get what you pay for. The room was tiny and the only view was of the side of an adjacent building five feet away. The room had been recently remodeled with paint and carpet, but the bathroom and sink and fixtures remained out of the 1950s. All night long, music wafted up from somewhere (the lobby below us maybe?). The desk chair broke as soon as I tried to move it, and the front desk staff's first reaction was to threaten to charge me for damaging their furniture. At least THAT didn't happen. I don't know what other options there are in Iron Mountain but I don't think I'll be back to this property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear MadMatthew,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations this fourth of July weekend. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Danielle Hoaglund
General Manager
EconoLodge
906.776.8000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

They recently remodeled many of their rooms since I've last stayed here. New beds, carpet, furniture, TVs and bathtubs with jets.

Very nice for the price you pay. If you're a diamond member with Choice Hotels like I am, 40+ stays per year, you get a free room upgrade and can potentially get a $125/ night suite for like $52 inc taxes! Beat that Priceline!

Their staff is very nice. Even though their breakfast doesn't start until 6am, they said they would set up early for me at 5:30 when I had to leave for work.
Very nice hotel that puts customers first with a great price for their rooms and great quality of service. I'd rather stay here than the other choice hotel in Iron Mountain; Comfort Inn, which charges at least $76/ night for rooms and they're not as nice as the Econo Lodge rooms. Their staff is nice too, but I think I'll keep my $30!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corrigan004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Corrigan-
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such great feedback. We sincerely appreciate your kind words as well as your business. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to better serve you in the future, and we look forward welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

the econo lodge staff is the friendliest and most courteous I have ever encountered. The pool is very nice and the rooms are excellent and spotless! overall a very good place to stay for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZarnoldE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear ZarnoldE-

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Danielle Hoaglund
General Manager
EconoLodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was in town on business and booked the Econo Lodge. The staff and hotel made my trip much easier and more comfortable. The rooms and furniture have been updated recently. WiFi signal was solid and helped me get a lot of work done. The room looked great and the bed was comfortable. The pool is a decent size and there is a hot tub. The front desk keeps fresh baked cookies on hand and they really go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. With my military discount, the room was an even better deal! Thanks Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south/east wing are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT8541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear HT8541-

We at EconoLodge greatly appreciate your business and strive to make your stay comfortable and easy every time. We value our guest's opinions as it is a very helpful insight on what we are doing right, as well as what we can do better. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope to see you again soon (where we will have our fresh cookies ready for you!)

Respectfully,
Danielle Hoaglund
General Manager
EconoLodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a little getaway in March. It was quiet, but the service was outstanding! And the room was WAY better than I was expecting. We stayed in room 208, which was newly remodeled and had jets in the tub! The king sized bed was so luxurious, and you can't beat the value! The pool area and hot tub were small, but we felt as if we had it all to ourselves!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschultz2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience with us...Insight like yours helps make our days a little brighter when we know we were able to provide you with the quality stay and service you deserve! We also appreciate your feedback about our hotel as it helps future guests to make an informed decision when choosing lodging accommodations. Again, thank you for your business and we hope to see you in the future!

Respectfully,

Danielle M. Hoaglund
General Manager
EconoLodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Due to the new decor and upgrades, I now stay at the New Econo lodge in Iron Mountain whenever I am in town. Staff are first rate and go the extra mile for me each time, any problems I encounter are readily corrected. I agree with the great value and love the new rewards program that Danielle signed me up for and the staff continue to help me with at each visit. Other reviews are right about age of hotel, some room noise due to plumbing and thin walls, wood floors, etc but overall improvment with new rooms. I see progress at each visit. Housekeeping must be much improved as well, my room always cleaned from floor up with bed made and fresh towels consistently. Another bonus is location right in middle of town on major hwy makes it convenient to almost everything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iron Mountain hotels
2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Iron Mountain
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Iron Mountain
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#4 of 11 in Iron Mountain
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
2 mi away
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
#7 of 11 in Iron Mountain
21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Iron Mountain
Super 8 Iron Mountain
#6 of 11 in Iron Mountain
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1609 S Stephenson Ave, Iron Mountain, MI 49801-3635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Price Range: $58 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 58 individually decorated rooms provide free WiFi, free wired Internet, and private yards. Guests will appreciate conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, while flat-screen TVs with cable channels provide a bit of entertainment. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and meeting rooms. Located in the heart of Iron Mountain, this motel is 1 mi (1.7 km) from Millie Mine Bat Viewing Site and 1.7 mi (2.8 km) from World War II Glider and Military Museum. Pine Mountain and Timberstone Golf Course are also within 6 mi (10 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Iron Mountain
Iron Mountain Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing