We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical HIexpress, Excellent area option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Typical HIexpress, Excellent area option”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

What can I say about Holiday Inn Express that you probably don't know, if you have stayed at one? The cinnamon rolls are unhealthy, but very tasty... that's about it.

This property is well kept, modern, clean, and upholds the brand well. Service distinguishes this property. I like front desk staff that take a moment to greet you or say hello when walking by. As well as other small touches, you are not ignored.

This is a good west-side location. If you are doing work at the mill in Quinnesec, you might want to opt for an eastern side hotel. The hotel is close the Bay College, west side businesses, and a good launching point for Florence, Marquette, or Iron County.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
25
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Very clean, up to date, comfortable, decent buffet breakfast........what you would expect of a Holiday Inn Express. The bed were very comfortable and the pool was one of the cleanest, clearest pools I've ever seen. Our fairly spacious double queen room was about $93/nite with tax and a AAA discount....a little pricey, considering the area (in my experience, lodging in the the U.P. tends to be a bit cheaper than Lower Michigan and Wisconsin)........

If you don't mind spending a bit more than some of the other area motels, I recommend the Holiday Inn Express of Ironwood, MI.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I've never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express and we had a nice stay here. The breakfast was decent and there was free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Convenient location for visiting Upper Michigan and Northern Wisconsin. Clean, hotel, friendly staff. For some reason, our room was not serviced but the front desk clerk was quick to provide clean towels and toiletries for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbncgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We selected this location as our overnight on the way back from fishing in Canada. (We stayed in Orr, MN on the way up - the HIE was less expensive and hands-down far nicer of a hotel.) We reserved the larger king room for business travellers - the room was a bit larger, had a nice flat sceen and awesome bath (granite, tile, very clean). The hotel looks brand new. I had seen average ratings on other travel websites and was not sure but this place beat the pants off the place we stayed in Orr. Now you'd think anything past a fishing cabin would be awesome but I'm kinda picky having travelled extensively for business so had already high standards and this place was all that I needed. It included a free breakfast that has hot and cold food and is the first place I've seen packaging so you can take breakfast to go if in a hurry. Staff was great for the short interactions we had. Only one minor item was our AC which made a bit of a rattle at starting up but quickly subsided once in run mode. I could have cared less given the king bed, nice linens and choice of firm or soft pillows (I brought my own so can't comment on the accuracy of the notations embroirdered on the pillow case). I had to write a review - something I never do - because my brother-in-law and I had a discussion about how no one (real) writes in when they have a good experience, only a bad one. Generally I agree - but this place deserved a note. While it is not a plush, luxury hotel, I am giving it an Excellent review because at this price point, it was money very well spent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyFanWDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed here one night while on business in the U.P. (see also reviews for Holiday Inn Marquette, HI Express in Houghton, and Comfort Inn Ironwood).

This is a typical HI Express, so you know what to expect and it lives up to it. Everything was clean, fresh, and in good working order. No negatives about the stay; I would return to this hotel if in Iron Mountain again.

Pool was being maintained, so I did not get to try it.

Staff was friendly and accomodating; Internet worked well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Just got back from the Holiday Inn Express in Iron Mountain, and I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is only one year old, is cleaner than a whistle, and has ample parking.

The breakfast each morning is very nice, and the staff was quick to assure me that the food was just prepared, and it was nice and warm (bacon and eggs). The linens are very nice, and there is ample shampoo, conditioner, soap and a coffee machine and iron in the room.

I understand they don't allow pets, but since I don't have one, it didn't matter to me.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iron Mountain hotels
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Iron Mountain
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Iron Mountain
74 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#4 of 11 in Iron Mountain
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Iron Mountain
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
#7 of 11 in Iron Mountain
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Iron Mountain
Super 8 Iron Mountain
#6 of 11 in Iron Mountain
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
Address: 1535 N Stephenson Ave, Iron Mountain, MI 49801-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, Iron Mountain is a beautiful and historic town located within minutes of the Wisconsin border. Travelers to the Iron Mountain area will find restful, 100% non smoking accommodations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites which is located near the best of Iron Mountain's attractions. You will find getting to our Iron Mountain hotel is easy as we are conveniently located on US2/ 141/ M95. Many of Iron Mountain's largest businesses are located within a few minutes of our hotel. M.J. Electric, BOSS Products, Systems Control and Oldenburg Group Incorporated are just a short drive from our hotel in Iron Mountain. For special events or meetings, the Antoine Room has everything you need to host a successful event. Conveniently located adjacent to the hotel, the Antoine Room can host up to 300 attendees. For the leisure traveler, our Iron Mountain hotel offers convenient access to many outdoor attractions. In the winter months, Pine Mountain Ski Hill and Norway Mountain Ski Hill are both prime locations to ski. Pine Mountain is also home to one of the world's largest man-made ski jumps. In summer months, blaze a trail at Piers Gorge Whitewater Rafting & Hiking Trails or enjoy a round of golf at nearby Oak Crest Golf Course or TimberStone Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Iron Mountain
Iron Mountain Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing