We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but beware”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Iron Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Mountain Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location but beware”
Reviewed July 12, 2006

Wonderful location and probably the most services of any hotel available in Iron Mountain (indoor pool, workout room, restaurant/bar, etc). Services include a restaurant/bar 'Famers' that has live music on Friday/Saturday night. The bar is packed for these events and it's nearly difficult to get a parking space in the huge lot! The live music is absolutely cranked up, so best to stay in a room as far away from bar as possible; our room was located on opposite site of hotel and we couldn't hear anything, but imagine that at least 50% of rooms have noise issues with bar. The hotel also held two weddings the weekend we stayed; the function rooms are scattered throught the hotel and outside, so there was blaring music everywhere until 1230am - imagine three competing bands/DJs. We complained and got a 50% reduction in room rate, which was satisfactory, but this hotel clearly favors functions and bar over guests - BEWARE. At checkout, desk agent said they need to be better about warning guests about summertime weddings 'so they can make alternate plans'. In case your agent doesn't tell you about weddings, let me relay the message: Unless you are going to a wedding or enjoying the music at the bar AND staying up until 1am on Friday and Saturday nights, do not stay at this hotel on a weekend. Agree with all previous comments that the rooms are tired - our duvet was frayed and stained and room furniture and fixtures haven't seen an update since 1960s. This hotel is as much of a 'classic' as you can get in Iron Mountain! Other family members stayed at the Comfort Inn on US2 on north side of town and had a much better experience - rooms are much newer and there are no function rooms at that property, and rates are comparable/lower.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freq_Sea_Tvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
22
10
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warren, michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2005

we were there for deer hunting this year-had 3 rooms
with my buddies-great place to stay-price was cheaper
than most in town which was a bonus as we feel its the
best place in town to stay-everything is there-pool, bar
& restaurant-they even give you a continental breakfast-very friendly staff-nice rooms-the only thing I might add, is the restaurant should improve on
their steaks-other than that, we loved the place-

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana-al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2005

This resort rates a -1 star. The food was not impressive, even though I was assured by staff it would rate four stars. What are they used to eating? The room were fit like institution rooms and smelled like it also. We will not stay there again, a motel 6 would be better.

The golfing was great...but that is not owned by the resort... good thing.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Iron Mountain hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 3, 2005

I have stayed here a few times and consider it a great place to go to get away. Beautiful surroundings. Rooms are a bit "rough" but the rest of the facility is ideal. I highly recommend to those that enjoy some rest and fun in a mountain setting

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 10, 2004

Being situated among a forest of pine trees set back away from busy roads I expected this hotel to be a lot nicer than it was. I was horribly disappointed. The room was small and stunk of cigarette smoke. I am very sensitive to cigarette smoke and so this was a nightmare. The room was connected to another by a locked door and there were other people in that room. The walls were paper thin and you could hear everything that went on next door. Needless to say, we got our money back and went elsewhere.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iron Mountain hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Iron Mountain
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Iron Mountain
72 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#4 of 11 in Iron Mountain
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Iron Mountain
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
#7 of 11 in Iron Mountain
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Mountain Resort

Property: Pine Mountain Resort
Address: N3332 Pine Mountain Rd, Iron Mountain, MI 49801-9403
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Pine Mountain Hotel Iron Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing