We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food”

Spiro's Downtown Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: American, Grill, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UP of Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A local restaurant with a menu that has a variety of items that your normal choices. They also have specials that are very good. Good wine and beer selection also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YooperFliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    26
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Great little restaurant with a variety of menu items. The atmosphere is comfortable and much more modern than most of the restaurants in the area. My husband and I were both very pleased with our entrees but, mostly, we could not stop talking about the Italian Bruschetta appetizer that we shared. Fantastic!
Our server and the other staff were all friendly, welcoming, and helpful. We are looking forward to many more meals here!

Helpful?
Thank Carin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience in Iron Mountain”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Delicious food that was created outside the box of typical area dining. Outdoor seating along the brick drive. Live acoustic music that was both entertaining and relaxing. Good service. Good prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Letty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, MI
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Great Bistro In An Unlikely Place”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm afraid that Iron Mountain has never been known as a Foodie destination, but Spiro's might change that. It's not a Greek restaurant inspite of the name. It's a sophisticated Bistro with a full bar and a very good wine list that includes some good selections by the glass. The menu is adventurous for this region but also filled with some very approchable selections. We had NY strip and the Tiger Prawns with Polenta, but we scoped out our fellow diners' selections which included grilled salmon and some very gourmet burgers. Our house salads were organic mixed salad greens (no head lettuce here) and the dressings were homemade. The service was very good and the hostess (the chef/owner's mother) welcomed us and returned several times to check on us. Spiro's has a very relaxed feel to it and it's very welcoming. There's outside sidewalk dining which beckoned, but it was a bit late in the season once the sun set. Reservations are recommended...this place fills up!

Helpful?
Thank arjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Casual, Superb, Delicious!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Wonderful, small place with lovely atmosphere and superb service. Very fresh food and a menu with excellent variety. Healthy options readily available. Nice variety of menu options and a great place for friendly or business gatherings. I will go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiro's Downtown Restaurant also viewed

Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Spiro's Downtown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing