We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant for miles”

Spiro's Downtown Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Greek, Contemporary, International
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for miles”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have dined at Spiro twice for lunch while passing through Iron Mountain. It has a bistro type feel and offers more variety than most of the other options in the area. Both times I was there everyone was pleased with their food and the service was great. Not to mention the drink prices are reasonable. Iron Mountain tends to be a place that we pass through often on the way to other destinations; I am happy to know where one good place is to stop for a meal!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeHawkeye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    27
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UP of Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

A nice little place in downtown that has something different than all the other places in town.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank YooperFliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience - always!"”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Have eaten here more times than I can count and have never been disappointed. Interesting food, friendly and welcoming staff, and attractive surroundings. Add to that a
wine list that offers outstanding wines to pair with the food, and you have an evening worth
remembering in the making!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very European feel.”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had lunch at Spiro's over Thanksgiving, and we were blown away--nice, simple gourmet menu. Great beer selection. Charming, tight little restaurant. And, reasonable prices. Would love to go back in summer when dining outdoors is an option.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 922ScottB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really great meal in Iron Mountain”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I really needed a good dinner after traveling all day through the U.P. and I'm very happy that I found Spiro's.

It's located on a side street downtown and is a small, pleasant space with about 12 tables. The servers (and owner maybe?) were all super-friendly but not overbearing. I did not drink but they had a good-sized wine list.

The menu was very well crafted - I settled on the short rib with Dr. Pepper sauce and polenta. It was fantastic - definitely took me by surprise to find a restaurant of this caliber in such a small town! The french onion soup was also very good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiro's Downtown Restaurant also viewed

Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Spiro's Downtown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing