We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Cabin in the Winter Wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellis Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlochen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellis Lake Resort
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 review
“Perfect Cabin in the Winter Wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Great price. Lovely accommodations. Perfect romantic getaway. No TV but we brought a laptop and played movies. Hot tub in the snow was great! Only drawback - Wish it had an enclosure though and place to put clothes/towels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDallos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Pleasant
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Ellis Lake Resort was easy to find. Although the atmosphere is rustic and remote, we were surprised at how close we were to all kinds of businesses and activities. The cabin was incredibly clean, with great attention to detail. We enjoyed the roomy feel of the open floorplan yet it was still warm and cozy. The kitchen had everything needed.
I appreciated the free WIFI and since I am techno-challenged, Becky's assistance in figuring out how to use it was wonderful!
Becky and Steve took great pains to fill us in on everything they and the area had to offer.
We were pampered by having the snow cleared off the car and the firepit shoveled out.
We had some awesome winter time campfires!
We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidaMtPleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and I have been coming to these cabins since we were in college. This year will be our 19th year in a row. We have made many great memories here and even got engaged during one of our visits. The cabins are rustic and cozy. They have kitchens and showers. There is an outdoor hottub which you can sign up for an hour at a time so you have it to yourself. There is great skiing nearby. Traverse City and all it has to offer (shopping, restaurants, movies, etc.) is just down the road. While this isn't a fancy place, it has everything you need for a relaxing and romantic weekend away. The prices are very reasonable and the owners are great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roykranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverine Lake, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Ellis Lake has a group of rustic cottages built in the 40's. They are in a wooded area next to Ellis Lake. You can swwim, fish, hike, etc. We go XC skiing at several nearby trails.

The cabins are neat and clean, but don't expect anything fancy. A bonus is the outdoor heated hot tub, which is open all year round. What better way to relax your tired muscles than to hit the hot tub in the evening?

We have been going back to Ellis Lake Resort for 18 years and have always enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdwalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

My husband and I have been visting Ellis Lake cabins for a winter weekend for the past 6 years. We truly love the cabins, we've stayed in several different ones and have our favorites. Rustic, quiet, simple. We love the winter snowshoeing around the lake on trails thru the woods, building a fire in the woodstove and enjoying a good cup of coffee in peace and quiet. Traverse City is not far if you miss the hussle and bussle, good resturants,antique shops and wineries are plentiful. Visit the winery, get a good wine and return to Ellis Lake cabins and enjoy a campfire with the one you love. We highly recommend this slice of heaven on earth and have enjoyed it for many years, God willing many more.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

The photos on the website make you think that the lake is visible from the cabins. It is not but the busy noisy highway is right on top of them. The lake is more like a pond. If you are a deaf hobbit you might be comfortable here. Everyone else beware!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeannieChiliBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjohnsondragonfly, Owner at Ellis Lake Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
We are truely sorry this guest was dissatisfied with our service. This guest decided to leave one day early and wanted her money reimbursed for the last night and would in return give us good will. The confirmation mailed to the guest when she made her reservation clearly stated our policy of no refunds for late arrivals or early departures. We talked with this guest and told her if we were able to book the cabin for the night we would be more than happy to reimburse her. We have also offered to apply the last nights fee to a future stay with us.
Our website does not give a reason to believe we are off the beaten path. Our address is US 31 as indicated in all of our literature. We also do not indicate that any of our cabins are on the lake. Our website shows the location of our cabins in relationship to the lake. We have a short path to walk from the cabins to our lake. Our property is the only business on Ellis Lake where we do have a nice beach. We are a fishing lake with a dock and boats, beach, tables, chairs and umbrellas on our deck.
This guest contacted our office before she left and talked to the person in charge who was in the office until late morning and then began working on the property. We occassionally have guests or visitors who come in for help or information and always have cabins to clean. We do leave the office in these situations and leave a sign on the door with a phone number if you need to reach us. Great customer service for our guests and future guests is our top priority. We are truly sorry that this guest was not satisfied with our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interlochen
10.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
12.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
11.6 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
16.8 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Lake Resort

Property: Ellis Lake Resort
Address: 8440 US 31 S, Interlochen, MI 49643
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Interlochen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Interlochen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute, cozy, romantic log cabin lodging. Small resort surrounded by forest on almost 900 feet of frontage on secluded Ellis Lake. Private outdoor hot tub. rowboats, canoes, snowshoes, volleyball and horseshoes are available. Chairs, grill, tables and a nice floating raft at the lake. Our Logrooms (motel rooms) have a small refrigerator and coffee maker. All other units have kitchenettes or full kitchens, some will also have a microwave. WIFI on property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing