We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Tranquil, Beautiful Surroundings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlochen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake 'N Pines Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Interlochen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quiet, Tranquil, Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed at the Lake N Pines June 5-12, in the "Nature Cottage", which is a second level unit, including a wrap-around outside deck, with views of the woods and lake (Lake DuBonnet). The cottage had a very warm and cozy feel to it, and is located in a separate building near the main house.
The nightly rate included a made-to-order breakfast each morning in the main house, which was delicious, and a mid-afternoon, homemade snack delivered directly to our unit :). The cottage has a full kitchen and gas grill with grilling utensils. The nice thing about staying in the cottage is that you can cook your own meals, if you wish. There are also some restaurants nearby. (We enjoyed "Bud's", which was just a couple miles from the lodge, for gourmet coffee, ice cream/pastries, sandwiches, salads.)
We brought our fishing boat on the trip, and there are also a lot of lakes within a short driving distance. There are kayaks and a small fishing boat available right there at the lodge.
We drove up to MacKinaw Island from the lodge one day. The Sand Dunes are a short drive. We also noticed many places in the area for canoe trips.
Our host and hostess were very welcoming and helpful with anything that we needed. The house-dog, Yukon, was also very friendly.
We would definitely stay here again. It was a great week at the Lake N Pines!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disneygeekette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    54
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
215
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Conveniently located near the Academy and Traverse City, Lake 'N Pines Lodge offers hospitality in a very peaceful setting. Their home cooked breakfast and baked snacks were a personal touch in a private setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stillwater808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2010

This was a scaled down B&B. Not elegant, not pertentious. If you are looking for an "at home" feeling, this is the place.
Beautiful lake, nice rooms, Inn-keepers extremely accomodating. Breakfast is nothing special, ordinary fare, but always tasty and satisfying.
Beware of the water, smells and tastes like sulfer - like the lake it sits next to. Bottled water is provided, but showering takes a bit of getting used to due to the smell. Water is very hard, but it does wonders for your hair! Our room was very nice, spacious, lots of amenities, but not as clean as it should have been. The waste baskets had garbage from the guests before us and the floors could have been cleaner. Our white socks turned brown on the bottoms pretty quick after kicking off our shoes. Lots of bugs from the woods in the room too, both dead and alive. A few are to be expected, but all the dead guys we found in the window sills were a bit nasty.
Not sure why, but our room was never made up, nor the linens changed during our stay. They did provide new towels and took away the used ones, but that is all. I am sure if we had asked that it be "picked up" it would have been, but generally this is something you do not have to ask to be done - especially at a B&B.
One other thing that was a bit uncomfortable is that there are no locks on the doors, I mean "NO LOCKS." Anybody can walk into your room at any time. This was a bit unsettling. There were no problems, everything was fine, but I have traveled a lot, and have never encountered a room without a lock.
Our stay was quiet and uneventful. Sunset on the lake is gorgeous - especially from the hot tub. There is one on the deck, and another one in the Bay Chalet room. They have a big beautiful grill you can use for cooking, a fishing boat and they will hook you up with fishing gear too. Caught fish right off the dock. It is a wonderful place for a quiet weekend. Just don't expect everything to be pristene and you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeepdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbor, Owner at Lake 'N Pines Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
Thank You for your feedback. We just bought the location last August and as it was an established B&B had never encountered the lock issue. Just recently guests have asked for them and we have decided to get them installed on all rooms. We take great pride in the cleaniness of the property as this is our first spring on a property nestled in 6000 acres of state forest we are learn to appreciate the increased the focus the elements of nature provide us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We had a wonderful time, taking walks and drives and just NOT WORKING! The only thing I could suggest is that someone go through the room we rented on a quarterly or less basis and clean it up real good to get out the webbies and dust. I'm a clean freak, what can I say!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbird55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbor, Owner at Lake 'N Pines Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thank You For your input! We greatly appreciate it. We take great pride in our property and how clean we keep it and will insure that we keep focused on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Walking distance to the Pere Marquette Forest with several routes available. The B & B is located directly on Lake Dubonnet; very tranquil spot; likely nice in the summer for kayaking/paddle boating (which are available there). We had 4 out of the 5 rooms; and were very pleased with the lodging and food. Dave and Melanie went out of their way for breakfasts, Way Too Much! Only 15 min. from Traverse City makes this a great 'quiet' retreat spot; with easy access to all the fun of TC! We're already booked for next year!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaMona01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed for New Year's Eve. We were looking for a quiet, romantic holiday, in contrast to everything usually associated with NYE. Boy, did we ever find it here. Melanie and David were beyond hospitable. Everyday there were fresh and yummy snacks in our room. They even left a little goody package on NYE full of noisemakers and party favors. The Bay Chalet was fully stocked with an ice bucket and champagne flutes. Not to mention, seeing pictures of the Chalet do not do the "room" (more like a private condo) justice. It really felt like a home away from home (except I don't have a hot tub or a sauna, so it was even better!!) And you can't go wrong with a delicious breakfast of your choice brought up to the room every morning at whatever time we wanted. Talk about accommodating.

We loved that the lodge was tucked away...nice and quiet. Without GPS, we probably never would have found it. But for us, a pleasantly timed road trip from Chicago, the lodge is centrally located from a million and one things to do. We traveled into Traverse City for a day, and headed the other direction to ski Casacade Mountain another.

Wonderful job, Melanie and David! We cannot wait to head back in the summer! I definitely anticipate this being a 4-season go-to getaway spot.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I stayed at the Lake N' Pines Lodge in Interlochen with my daughter, who is a student at Interlochen Arts Academy for the weekend. The new owners were so sweet and generous and they offered delicious made to order breakfasts, treats like brownies and blue berry muffins, and let us even use their washer and dryer. We stayed in the cottage which is a two bedroom apartment over a large garage with a kitchen, sitting area with nice TV, and table, and a deck looking out to the woods and lake. Highly recommend to any Interlochen families who are visiting as it is about 4 minutes away, just down from Wendy's a few miles. We had wireless Internet and might have fished if the weather had not turned cold!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interlochen
13.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,062 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
7.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
715 reviews
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake 'N Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake 'N Pines Lodge

Property: Lake 'N Pines Lodge
Address: 10354 Mud Lake Rd, Interlochen, MI 49643-9757
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Interlochen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Interlochen
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 1000 acre Lake Dubonnet – we offer five unique accommodations. From a 2 bedroom cottage to a 900 sq. foot suite – we have the perfect place for you! All accommodations include a full made to order breakfast, Direct TV with HBO, Showtime and Cinemax, DVD players, Free Wireless Internet and refrigerators. As well all guests are welcome to use our complimentary rowboats with trolling motors, kayaks and canoes along with our outdoor Jacuzzi. Rates vary according to the season- Group discounts available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing