We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Management...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Hawk Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Hawk Bistro
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“New Management...”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

They were still waiting for their Liquor License when we were there. We had their French Onion Soup, it was like Day Old Dishwater! Not cooked long enough, Thin and Tasteless. Some of the Onions were still half Raw!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, no wine or liquor”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My father used to eat here many years ago. He loved it so we thought we'd give it a try. As we drove into town, we say that Vivio's restaurant was packed. We thought we'd find the same at the Brown Trout. The lot was almost empty with only a couple of cars in the lot. We wondered why they weren't busy. As you walk in, there is a large bar but they don't have a license to serve alcohol yet. Our waiter was very prompt and brought us a basket of pretzel rolls. They were delicious. A few minutes after taking our order, we were informed that their soup of the day, Tomato Basil, was gone. We looked around at the empty restaurant and wondered why they were out?? The steak was good but one had to be returned for additional cooking. It was a nice restaurant but not a good value for the money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank siestaacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian River, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save You Money”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

No silverware on table. When asked for some, a young lady dumped a handful in the center of our table. Greens were cold, baked potato luke warm, Waitress forgot part of our appetizers. When dinner was delivered, order was mixed up. Price for a simple perch dinner, which is not a large portion, over $16. That's one of he cheapest meals unless you want soup and salad. No liquor licence yet, which would've numbed the reality of a very unprofessional environment. At the prices they charge, after the fudgies leave, that establishment wont' make enough to keep the lights on. Pathetic, and worse dining experience I've ever had, and what's worse is that it was my fathers 84th birthday.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cold Food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I decided to try this place after it just opened back up with new ownership. Cold food/poorly cooked and small portions and noticed many people complaining around me. The manager was a poor representative of this establishment. The music was pathetic. I think it will be a long summer for this place and the only positive is that the wait staff did a great job.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Cozy lodge-like atmosphere and good food. Try the Perch. not very fast with the food but worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CompuDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hawk Bistro also viewed

Indian River, Cheboygan County
Indian River, Cheboygan County
 
Indian River, Cheboygan County
Indian River, Cheboygan County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing