We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save You Money”
Review of Black Hawk Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Hawk Bistro
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Indian River, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save You Money”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

No silverware on table. When asked for some, a young lady dumped a handful in the center of our table. Greens were cold, baked potato luke warm, Waitress forgot part of our appetizers. When dinner was delivered, order was mixed up. Price for a simple perch dinner, which is not a large portion, over $16. That's one of he cheapest meals unless you want soup and salad. No liquor licence yet, which would've numbed the reality of a very unprofessional environment. At the prices they charge, after the fudgies leave, that establishment wont' make enough to keep the lights on. Pathetic, and worse dining experience I've ever had, and what's worse is that it was my fathers 84th birthday.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cold Food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I decided to try this place after it just opened back up with new ownership. Cold food/poorly cooked and small portions and noticed many people complaining around me. The manager was a poor representative of this establishment. The music was pathetic. I think it will be a long summer for this place and the only positive is that the wait staff did a great job.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Cozy lodge-like atmosphere and good food. Try the Perch. not very fast with the food but worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CompuDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Charming place and good wine selection”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner there! Food was well prepared and the portions were very generous. Good wine selection. Ribs were cooked perfectly and others enjoyed their perch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tucker1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Get rid of the T.V.s”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Have eaten at this restaurant for 20 years since they opened. The food has remained consistant in quality, although I have been disappointed lately that entrees are coming up short when it comes to veggies. My biggest gripe is that decision to fill what was a fabulous rustic interior with the sights and sounds of T.V. Keep them in the bar. Do we have to have a T.V. in our face 24 hours a day.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timeisshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hawk Bistro also viewed

Indian River, Cheboygan County
Indian River, Cheboygan County
 
Indian River, Cheboygan County
Indian River, Cheboygan County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing