We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caution: The Right Photographer Can Make a Dump Look Nice!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northwoods Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indian River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northwoods Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Caution: The Right Photographer Can Make a Dump Look Nice!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a HUGE disappointment!!! The room was ridiculously small, but did include a squashed bug on the wall. The mattress on the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and sunk into the bed frame. No water pressure in the shower. Neither the refrigerator nor the air conditioner worked properly. Carpet on the outside stairs was worn and threadbare.

The continental breakfast, served in a cramped little room, simply sucked!!! Frozen bagels, packaged/store bought "pastries," and awful coffee did not satisfy anyone! As for the much-advertised waffles, stay away. The person working there actually pulled out a tub and proceeded to mix the batter (powder + water = disgusting) in front of us. Do what we did: Bite the bullet, spend a few bucks, and go to Paula's Cafe (about a mile away) for a GREAT breakfast.

The staff is unhelpful, uninterested, and unprofessional!!!

All in all, this place is over-hyped, over-priced, and just depressing!!! While there aren't exactly a lot of choices in Indian River, I recommend looking elsewhere!!! If I am going to have a campground-like experience, why should I pay hotel prices??? Shoulda' just gone camping!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIGERFAN2490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney K, Front Office Manager at Northwoods Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that you did not have a positive stay experience. I can understand why not having the air conditioning work properly would be frustrating and apologize for this. Typically our maintenance team can fix it or a room change is offered. I wish you would have told us while you were here.

I am also sorry our continental breakfast was not to your liking. We strive to listen to our guests of their likes/dislikes and feel we offer a good variety of what most people enjoy.

I'm sure had you mentioned any of this to our attentive staff they would have been diligent in trying to make sure your stay was as accommodating as possible. Again, I'm just sorry it wasn't brought to our attention.

Since it was to my dismay to read that you were not happy with your stay with, I hope you contact me directly so I can identify the room number you were in and offer a personal apology.

Thank you again for your review and apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I do hope you return so we can show you that your experience is not typical of a guest that stays with us. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Courtney Kolatski
231-238-8181
courtney@racc2000.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hope
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed in your Northwoods Lodge in Indian River MI. the lodage was liike a five star hotel. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very polite and helpful by going out of their way to making everything perfect. The atmosphere felt like home. I will definetly stay there in the near future. I would recommend this lodge to anyone that is spending time in the Indian River area.

Sincerely,
Terry Meyette

Room Tip: The two Queen size bed rooms were perfect. There is a picture window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Michgian
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Booked two nights here based on the website and some other reviews. The property is well maintained, the rooms where clean. Service was ok, (we put the sign on the door handle requesting updated towels. It was never done. When we asked why... they said they weren't sure if the sign was left by accident. Really? What's the purpose of the door hanger if you are going to second guess it?) Breakfast was continental with waffles. Very adequate. Staff was friendly. Really have no complaints except price. The Inn is located about a mile north of Indian River. It's not on the water, so it's hard for me to justify the $130 a night we ended up paying. We were quoted less on the phone for the reservation but the owner told me it was a staff mistake. Once again not a giant deal, but still... I will say that the place was booked the weekend we were there in August, so obviously others were willing to pay the price. For comparison We stayed our first night at a comfort Inn in a nearby northern town for $79 a night. It was just as nice with a bigger room and the service was better. So this is a nice Inn, very well kept, with clean rooms, adequate service, but just not worth $130 a night. Wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrichtont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We bicycled through Indian River on our way to Mackinac Island and back, and stayed here two nights - once on the way up, and once on the way back.
The manager was friendly and accommodating, the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast, including belgian waffles, was fine. We also enjoyed the firepit.
The beds were firm and towels were thin, but everything was clean, which is a primary consideration. The free wi-fi worked fine too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian River
8.6 mi away
Crooked River Lodge
Crooked River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alanson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fleetwood Inn and Suites
Fleetwood Inn and Suites
#2 of 5 in Cheboygan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
17.0 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwoods Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Lodge

Property: Northwoods Lodge
Address: 2390 S Straits Hwy, Indian River, MI 49749-9792
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Indian River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwoods Lodge is a unique log lodge in a peaceful setting in the beautiful resort area of Indian River, Michigan. With only 15 rooms, this award-winning lodge offers you the quaintness of a Bed & Breakfast with the privacy of a motel. All recently renovated rooms are "Northwoods" themed and include log furniture, wildlife art, and even a pine tree. Let us share with you our rustic, cozy warmth! In 2015 all rooms were completely renovated with new paint, carpet, bedding, drapes, furniture, tongue and groove wood ceilings, curved shower rods and new tile floors in the bathrooms! Room amenities include microwave and mini-refrigerator, flat screen TV's with HBO, free high-speed wireless, air conditioning, and free local calls. Rollaways available upon request. An enhanced Continental Breakfast** is included featuring hot Belgian Waffles, coffee, orange juice, cereal, bagels, breads, doughnuts, and more! We also offer a gorgeous honeymoon suite with in-room Jacuzzi and king log canopy bed, a kid-friendly room with log bunk beds, a handicap accessible room, and 2 pet-friendly rooms. All our rooms are non-smoking. We have a centrally-located lobby with fireplace, 2 leather couches, magazines, TV, "Up North" Gift Shop, ice, pop and snacks, with tables and chairs that are perfect for playing cards or checkers! Our lodge is surrounded by a very large grassy yard, bonfire area with picnic tables, BBQ grill and a small pond and nature / hiking trail. There is ample room for trailer parking and boat docking is available just 1/2 mile away on the Indian River. The North-Central State Trail is directly across the street for snowmobiling, bicycling and walking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing