We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hometown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hometown Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Ft worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place was awful! The plastic covering the mattresses was uncomfortable and loud, the towels were dirty, breakfast was horrible, and th walls were paper thin. The room smelled of mildew and our sinuses immediately flared up a soon as we entered the room. The pool is open til midnight so people were running up and down the hallway for hours, and we were even on the second floor. The Hampton inn, 30 minutes away in Gaylord is worth the drive and cheaper than this dump.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stoneygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
We are sorry your stay was not up to your expectations and for the noise. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we always want to make positive changes. We do have adult swim hours from 10p.m. - midnight so there is a designated quite time for adults to find peace. Please, consider staying again when in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
20
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rothbury, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a very nice stay. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very clean and quite. The breakfast I wasn't to happy with but i'm not fond of biscuits and gravy. But if we are ever in the area we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Really nice room. Hotel was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
"Nice Stay" .... that is what we want to hear! THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Was told when we called the trailhead was a mile down the road. That's fine except they didn't mention that was crossing the 75 overpass and very heavy traffic. No shoulder to ride on either. After doing that once we asked at desk if there was an alternate route to trail system. Sure, a couple miles down this back road they said....nope...try 13 miles of road before entering trails. The heat was OFF, not down, OFF when we got in our room. Mid Feb...not cool. Phone in room didn't work so when I needed to call down to desk ended up having to walk down. People at desk were friendly and the beds were comfy. Other than that,,,,,,we won't be back. Highly recommend for sledders to stay on the other side of expressway.Overpriced for what it is and location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 902Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
We are happy that you chose to stay with us are sorry to hear that our location did not work for you this time. We hope we'll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here to go snowmobiling for a few days. The hotel staff was very polite and friendly. The hotel was very clean and right off the snowmobile path. We will definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Thank you for sharing how we are right off the snowmobile paths we are. There are so many to choose from right from our location. Happy riding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked our weekend get a way to the Petoskey area and we were a bit nervous because of the mixed reviews. Well, we were more than pleasantly surprised. From check in to check out, were were treated very well by the friendly and courteous staff. Kristy, at check in was wonderful, gave us wonderful suggestions and vouchers for the Odawa Casino which added to our enjoyment of our weekend. Jodie on the evening shift was both very personable and helpful in recommending places to eat and other points of interest. You definitely have an asset to your establishment with Jodie who made the entire stay memorable and will definitely bring us back! Check out was also a great experience and again, we were treated very well! The property is well maintained, clean and basic. We stayed in room 105 and we had no problems. The room was clean, everything in good working order and very comfortable. The pool area was very clean and well maintained. It was also nice to see there were hours for adults only. Nothing worse than wanting to swim and there are tons of kids in the pool. So, glad to see this hotel got it right and gave us adults some time to enjoy the pool! The location is convenient.... right off I-75... A mere 20 minute drive to Petoskey and convenient to other locations you may want to visit in the area. Breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast but had a nice added touch of a delicious biscuits and gravy choice. We will definitely come back to Hometown Inn and recommend it to others! Thank You Hometown Inn for making our mini-vacation memorable as well as comfortable!

Room Tip: Not so much about the room but about Pizza... All we can say is take the advice from the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureGal1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Thank you. We are glad to hear that we made your mini-vacation memorable and comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend getaway to the Petoskey area and as usual there were mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. So, you just "never know".
We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent service we received from the staff upon arrival. Kristy, the manager was very helpful in pointing out places of interest as well as giving us vouchers for Odawa Casino which added to our enjoyment of our vacation. Jodie, the evening desk professional was very courteous, personable and made sure that we both felt welcome and well taken care of. She was very professional, personable and gave us great suggestions for dinner and other things to do and see in the area and is definitely an asset to this property. The rooms were very clean and comfortable plus very reasonably priced. We stayed in room 105 and it was wonderful. The pool area was very clean and well maintained and it was wonderful they had a no kids policy from 10 pm-midnight. Nothing against kids but, sometimes adults just want to enjoy they pool without kids and it was nice to have the pool to ourselves. Breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast but they do serve a delicious biscuits and gravy which was a nice added touch. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future and will definitely reccomend this property to others visiting the area.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms but ours was great. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
We are happy to hear your weekend getaway to the Petoskey area and your experience in one of our Jacuzzi Suites was a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We are not picky people, but some simple things just make sense. This was definitely not worth $100 a night. If you are going to run a hotel like this $50 maybe. First, the hallway smelled of smoke for a non-smoking hotel. Overall cleanliness lacked, the continental breakfast was just plain scary for fear of food poisoning we passed. A feather comforter covered with a fitted sheet was placed over the severely stained mattress. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie48867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We apologize your visit was not up to par. As for the smoking issue we are a 100% smoke free hotel along with all others in the state of Michigan. Let me apologize about the coffee stain on the mattress and box spring. That is a common occurrence that obviously our housekeeping department overlooked. I did use your picture as a training opportunity with our staff. Our complimentary breakfast can be very subjective to different guests. We have some that think the juices, cereals, breads, muffins, eggs, sausage gravy/biscuits are more than what was expected and I apologize it was not up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian River
9.4 mi away
Crooked River Lodge
Crooked River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alanson
292 reviews
14.9 mi away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
18.0 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
413 reviews
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Star Gate Motel
Star Gate Motel
#1 of 6 in Indian River
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn

Property: Hometown Inn
Address: 4375 Brudy Rd, Indian River, MI 49749-5170
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Indian River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Beautiful Indian River, close to the trails, rivers and lakes. Easy access off I-75, or M-68. Golf, kayaking and biking packages available. Free continental breakfast, indoor, heated pool and hot-tub. Jacuzzi rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hometown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing