We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hometown Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Coach House Motel(Indian River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Star Gate Motel(Indian River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northwoods Lodge(Indian River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Petoskey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coach House Inn(Petoskey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
16
13
16
10
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
13
16
10
14
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 69 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel in March and was disturbed by the dirty rest rooms in the lobby. After seeing our room this made the restrooms look clean. The room had dirt around the edge, garbage under the bed, shower curtain had mold on it, drip stains down the sink. Went to complain to front desk that also looked unprofessional, shirts hanging out, no name tag, tattoos and very rude. Ask to speak to a manager and she talked to me like it was a privilege to stay there. Never seen such a lack of care in a place that is supposed to be in the business of hospitality. Also I don't know where the last two comments came from on here but they sound like the manager wrote them.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize for the rare and unusual experience you had at our property. We value each guest, the cleanliness of the hotel and the welcoming staff we employ. Please, give us the opportunity to provide the customer service and accommodations that our guests recognize while staying at the Hometown Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Staff was outgoing, friendly, courteous and helpful. Knowledgeable abou thing to do in the area. Staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Great variety for a free breakfast. Room very clean and good sized. Linens clean and fresh. Had lovely pool and hottub. Just what we needed after driving all day. Price was comparable to other hotels in the area but only place we found with a pool. Was good to be close to everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are happy to hear your stay with us was so pleasant. We welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What an amazing little gem in northern Michigan. Great location right off I-75. Stayed here with my family and had a wonderful time. Room was clean and cozy, even had free cable and wi-fi. And heated pool and hottub were a great bonus. Staff was friendly and helpful. And the free breakfast. WOW! what a deal, juice, milk, cereal, muffins, bagels, toast, and even biscuits and gravy. Something for everyone. Awesome value and not way verpriced like some hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelS386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you thought our breakfast had something for everyone during your recent stay with us. Since you found us at such a great value we hope to welcome you back when you're in Indian River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

When coming in to Indian River we hit major snow squalls, when we called the hotel to explain our hazardous situation, the front desk explained they planned on charging our credit card wether we were there or not....upon finally arriving we found our room dirty and the jacuzzi tub was broken. Breakfast was nasty

Room Tip: Rooms are very noisy on second floor....
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We do have a 24 hour cancelation policy at our hotel and we notify all guests making a reservation of it. We have housekeeping clean our rooms daily. We do not rent out dirty rooms. We have no broken Jacuzzi tubs here at our hotel; the directions on how to use them are next to the on switch. I am sorry that our complimentary breakfast was not satisfactory to you. We hope that if in the area again you will choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here and experienced an unclean room, dirty pool and hot tub as well as an unstaisfactory breakfast(far from "deluxe"). The manager was very receptive the following morning and offered a free stay on our next trip. When I recently attempted to use the free night coupon, the new managment refused to honor the card stating it had "expired". Based on other reviews, I would NOT recommend this property. There are several other good options in Indian River!! Guest beware!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DRM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We always appreciate our guest’s input regarding their stay. We apologize that we were unable to accept a certificate that expired over (2 years ago) during an ownership change. We hope that when you return to the area you choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews