We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Great Price, Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hometown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hometown Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Cody, Wyoming
1 review
“Great Stay, Great Price, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

What an amazing little gem in northern Michigan. Great location right off I-75. Stayed here with my family and had a wonderful time. Room was clean and cozy, even had free cable and wi-fi. And heated pool and hottub were a great bonus. Staff was friendly and helpful. And the free breakfast. WOW! what a deal, juice, milk, cereal, muffins, bagels, toast, and even biscuits and gravy. Something for everyone. Awesome value and not way verpriced like some hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelS386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you thought our breakfast had something for everyone during your recent stay with us. Since you found us at such a great value we hope to welcome you back when you're in Indian River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
20
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

When coming in to Indian River we hit major snow squalls, when we called the hotel to explain our hazardous situation, the front desk explained they planned on charging our credit card wether we were there or not....upon finally arriving we found our room dirty and the jacuzzi tub was broken. Breakfast was nasty

Room Tip: Rooms are very noisy on second floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We do have a 24 hour cancelation policy at our hotel and we notify all guests making a reservation of it. We have housekeeping clean our rooms daily. We do not rent out dirty rooms. We have no broken Jacuzzi tubs here at our hotel; the directions on how to use them are next to the on switch. I am sorry that our complimentary breakfast was not satisfactory to you. We hope that if in the area again you will choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here and experienced an unclean room, dirty pool and hot tub as well as an unstaisfactory breakfast(far from "deluxe"). The manager was very receptive the following morning and offered a free stay on our next trip. When I recently attempted to use the free night coupon, the new managment refused to honor the card stating it had "expired". Based on other reviews, I would NOT recommend this property. There are several other good options in Indian River!! Guest beware!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We always appreciate our guest’s input regarding their stay. We apologize that we were unable to accept a certificate that expired over (2 years ago) during an ownership change. We hope that when you return to the area you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked a 2 queen room on expedia for $80 for 12/19 - 12/30/12. The rooms were very clean and the service was great. Great place to stay when you are snowboarding/skiing at boyne mountain, only about 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: 220 was my room and it was very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo8358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Better watch your reciept because they charge you for smoking when you don't even smoke charged me an extra 200.00 bucks when i think the maid forgot to vacuum ,the hot tub had a black ring around it the free breakfast was NASTY the management was rude so if you are ever in Indian River i would recommend staying at the COACH HOUSE MOTEL WEAR THEY WILL TREAT YOU LIKE FAMILY OUR STAY WAS ON OCT 6TH 2012

Room Tip: Coach House Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's unfortunate that this once very pleasant amenity to Indian River (when it was a Holiday Inn Express) now appears to be manged by whoever can be found to fill a position. I guess that's what happens when you have absent owners. We love Indian River, and thought we would give the new owners of this hotel a chance, but it will be our last time. It's good to know that there are great local places we can return to such as Star Gate Motel, Northwoods Lodge and Silent Sport Lodge B&B just south in Wolverine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I paid cash but i used my credit card to make my reservation then one month later it was on my credit card bill so they billed me twice they must make a lot of extra money doing this to people i will never go back this is out right stealing..

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian River
9.4 mi away
Crooked River Lodge
Crooked River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alanson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
14.9 mi away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
18.0 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
17.9 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn

Property: Hometown Inn
Address: 4375 Brudy Rd, Indian River, MI 49749-5170
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Indian River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Beautiful Indian River, close to the trails, rivers and lakes. Easy access off I-75, or M-68. Golf, kayaking and biking packages available. Free continental breakfast, indoor, heated pool and hot-tub. Jacuzzi rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hometown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing