We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clerk Trainee 'Kat' was so very helpful...”
Review of Super 8 Imlay City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Imlay City
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Imlay City
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clerk Trainee 'Kat' was so very helpful...”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Clerk Trainee 'Kat' was so very helpful & her recommendation for restaurant "Lucky's" was superb! Bed was very comfortable, and hotel was quiet so we had a great night's sleep. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like2trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    124
    38
    22
    12
See reviews for
91
66
40
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed here for one night while attending a family member's wedding in nearby Melvin about 20-30 minutes away. We were on a budget and we were a little hesitant at first since some Super 8's are a little rundown, but this one proved us wrong. It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. They gave us room #105 with a huge king-size bed. We were tired from driving 8 hours and slept great on the comfortable pillow-top mattress! The room itself is spacious with several drawers, a television, microwave, refrigerator, a small wooden table with 2 chairs, a padded sitting chair, and adequate lighting. The bathroom is small but sufficient enough, and the sink is located outside the door with a large mirror. Our room was located right next to the front desk and lobby area where breakfast is served but we had no problems with noise in the morning. Complimentary breakfast is served from 6-10am and has a few different options of cereal, muffins, bagels, coffee, milk, juice, and a waffle maker where you can fix your own waffles. Service was just okay, but then again we didn't really expect or need anything except a place to sleep and a little food in the morning to get us by. When we went to check-in there was only one person working at the front desk which isn't unusual, but we did have to wait for a bit (about 10 minutes or so) until she got off the phone with another customer...not a big deal though and she was polite. For the price (about $60 per night during the week) we thought this was a nice option for a hotel in the area if you're staying for a short time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie_and_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Upon check-in, all carpets were wet due to shampooing. Why did they do all the rooms at once? We took a room with the least damp carpet. At least the girl at the front desk was nice and apologetic. Then got a noise complaint at 8pm as my daughter was allegedly being too loud. Sorry she was in a car for 8 hours - she was a little hyper! It's not like she was running up and down the halls. Plus it was 8 frickin' pm! I gave the front desk a piece of my mind and basically told them to kiss my a**. Again the girl at the front desk was apologetic but I suggest handling complaints with a little better judgment next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is one of the nicer Super 8's that I have seen, though I often don't stay in their properties during my travels.

Thr room was pretty spacious, well furnished, clean, and comfortable. It was quiet. Decent included continental breakfast and good working in room free wireless internet.

I would not hesitate to stay here again upon returning to the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brutus
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We visit this area several times a year to see family. Often we are not able to stay with our family member and will stay in this hotel. Have stayed here at least 4 times in the past two years and have always walked into a welcoming clean room with our without a reservation. Nothing fancy but the rates are reasonable, staff are friendly, there is a basic breakfast (with a waffle machine), the area is fine and the rooms are ALWAYS clean and in good shape. Can't ask for more when we need a room to stay in and are not looking for a romantic retreat or anything of that nature.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My Family and I went up to Michigan for about 4 days to attend my brother's wedding. We were so comfortable there the whole time! The rooms were clean and spacious
and the lobby had this very cozy breakfast nook that I liked to sit and draw in. The staff were friendly and accommodating and they had a guest laundry and jacuzzi (the latter of which had to be reserved for a fee, I think.) Another pleasant feature was that it was within easy walking distance of a Big Boy's restaurant.

In summary, You get an amazingly agreeable experience here for just 60 dollars
a night. Budget lodging can't get much better than this, I suspect!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheres_The_Exit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We spent the night here last night. Didn't have a reservation -- just stopped in. Got a spacious, clean room with a king bed near a side exit door. The big attraction for us: free wireless internet access. Super 8 is basic, but not as basic as Motel 6. They provided a fridge, microwave, iron, coffee maker and hairdryer, as well as a complimentary breakfast, none of which we got at a Motel 6 we stayed at a couple of weeks ago. The Super 8 in Imlay City was very quiet -- not too many other residents except a few truckers. The bed was comfortable. Very polite staff. The total cost with my AAA discount was $54 after tax. I almost want to go back just to stay there (though there's really nothing going on in Imlay "City")!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank cottonsheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imlay City
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Imlay City
Days Inn Imlay City
#1 of 4 in Imlay City
356 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Lapeer Inn
22.5 mi away
Best Western Davison Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lapeer
23.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
20.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites - Lake Orion/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Imlay City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Imlay City

Property: Super 8 Imlay City
Address: 6951 Newark Rd, I-69 Exit 168, Imlay City, MI 48444-9784
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Imlay City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Imlay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Imlay City 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located along the I-69 M-53 corridor, known as the Gateway to the Thumb. 30 miles west of the Blue Water Bridge to Canada. We provide great customer service. Chose Super 8 Imlay City for all your lodging needs and find out why we have been a Pride of Super 8 for 5 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Imlay City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Imlay City
Imlay City Super 8
Imlay City Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing