We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - Thankyou Annie and Eric”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Essence Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essence Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Town B&B and Inns
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent - Thankyou Annie and Eric”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have just returned from Montserrat on Feb 16th 2012 and have to say how wonderful this apartmant was and how helpful and friendly Annie and Eric were. This was our 1st long haul trip with our 3 year old son and we spent the first part of our holiday in Antigua and then took the ferry over to Montserrat for the 2nd part of our holiday. We were not disapointed Montserrat made for a very interesting, relaxed and friendly holiday and Eric and Annie were terrific in everyway. The apartment was clean, comfortable and well appointed and we also kept it cool by keeping the doors open at night and just closing the Mesh Doors to keep a nice breeze coming into the rooms. The pool was basically ours for the week so we spent the odd afternoon or morning in the sun just chilling out. Anine and Eric arranged for Winston to collect us from the ferry port and he even stopped off on the way to allow us to get some shopping. Annie and Eric also arranged for the hire of a 4 x 4 for the duration of our stay (you definatley need a 4 x 4 on this island) car was only $35 a day and although it was an old Japanese import it did the job and did not let us down once. There were plenty of good places to eat out and we would highly recommend Olveston House, The Attic and JJ's where food was very good and not expensive. The island seemed very safe to explore and on the last day on the way to the Airport we collected a Hitchiker who wanted a lift (we would never do this anywhere else, especially with a small child with us). Many thanks again to Eric and Annie and Winston who collected us and sorted us out with cars - THANKYOU. We flew back to Antigua with Montserrat Airways on a small 8 seater plane and Captain Ramsey allowed me to sit in the Flight Deck and we ended up having the plane just between the 3 of us, this made for a nice parting journey and we even got to have a fly around Antigua before we landed.

We have always said that we would never travel to the same holiday destination twice however if we head to one of the other Carribean islands in the future we will definately want to arrange to spend the 2nd part of our trip in Montserrat with Annie and Eric

All the best Paul, Julia and Ellwood

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gordonsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

When we booked our 6 day vacation at The Essence in February 2011, we didn't know what to expect. Usually, we would spend our vacation in a luxury all-inclusive resort in one of the Carribean islands. The Essence is so much better! We got full service from Annie and Eric on booking advice, flights, things to do etc.
When we arrived at the airport, Eric was waiting for us to drive us to the guesthouse. If you want to rent a car, they will make the arrangements for you. But after a long trip, it took the stress out of the arrival and having to drive on the left side of the road.
During our stay, we didn't feel like cooking, so Annie gladly served us wonderful breakfast (made to order with organic eggs and home baked bread!), delicious lunches and gourmet dinners. Home grown bananas, mango... There are some restaurants on the island which are worth trying out. Ask Annie and Eric, and they will gladly make the reservations for you.
We stayed in the apartment, which has a private entrance, a little patio, a TV, sitting area (with sleeper sofa) and a fully equipped kitchen. Everything was Spic-and-Span. You also have free WiFi.
If you want to do the cooking yourself, they will gladly show you where to get groceries and even drive you there if you don't feel comfortable driving on the small and windy roads.
The view from the terrace is amazing: full view of the volcano, the Belham valley and the beach, which is within walking distance. The pool is beautiful and crystal clear. Towels (and even some fresh Aloe Vera for sunburn) are provided.
They know the island inside out and are very eager to show you around. Just ask them and consider it done!
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing and no-stress vacation without all the "tourists", this is the place to be. I hate writing this, because I want to keep it that way. Montserrat is absolutely beautiful and worth to explore.
We liked it so much, so we just came back from our second visit to the Essence. The highlight of this vacation was a visit to the newly opened part of the exclusion zone which brings you even closer to the devastated town of Plymouth and the volcano. A must!
Thank you Annie and Eric for taking such great care of us. We miss you guys and hope to be back real soon!
Dirk & Carine, Virginia, USA

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here for a few days and it was amazing. Right away Eric was super helpful over the phone making arrangements for the apartment and renting a car. When we arrived, Annie and Eric sat down with us and explained the best places to go and explore on our short visit. The apartment was beautfiul and very clean, with a private entrance it felt like it was our house. Our hosts were so helpful and everything we asked for and more they offered, we will definitely be returning and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Thanks so much Annie and Eric, I'm very envious on your slice of heaven, so thanks for sharing it!

Room Tip: We didn't utilize the guest room, but the apartment was huge and quite a value, I'd recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Essence Guesthouse was definitely one of the best places we stayed during our 4-weeks visit to 4 carribean islands. The hosts are very friendly and helpful people who showed us some great places in Montserrat (view of Plymouth!). The suite was absolutely flawless and the house is very beautiful. Very good value!
We, two Dutch girls, would definetely reccomend it. If we'd ever visit these islands again, we would definetely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We loved Essence! I can't even think of enough words to describe how wonderfully fabulous, friendly, welcoming, and just flat out awesome the proprietors (Annie and Eric) of Essence are. We stayed in the apt. which was very well appointed, the pool was beautiful, the garden gorgeous. They gave us mangoes and bananas from the yard, organic even. When we had a little hiccup in our holiday they went out of their way, above and beyond what could ever have been expected of them, and used their local connections to fix it. If you don't stay here you're missing out on a spectacular experience. They can hook you up with Winston for a taxi or you can rent a car from him. We can't wait to go back. They made our week in Montseraat. Thanks guys! Oh! Great view of the volcano, too!

Room Tip: We booked late, but it was off season. There are only two rooms: an apt. and a regular double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tbonerthrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Spend 17 days and had the most relaxing quiet trip ever..Annie&Eric was a very nice couple and made my stay as comfortable as possible...I stayed in the volcanoe apt and the views from there was amazing..very clean and the price was right and would spend another vacation day without a doubt..thanks Annie and Eric...See You Real Soon:)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Great place! I could sit on the deck or by the pool and see the volcano to my left and the ocean to my right. I think I had a better view of the volcano at Essence than I got at the Volcano Observatory. You could also walk right down to the beach in Belham Valley/Olde Towne in just a couple of minutes, avoiding the bull of course, which always left me a bit nervous :). Eric and Annie made me feel like I was right at home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharbaluba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essence Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Guesthouse

Property: Essence Guesthouse
Address: Old Towne Bluff Drive, Old Town, Montserrat
Location: Caribbean > Montserrat > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Annie and Eric, a Belgian couple enjoying life in the Caribbean. The Essence is situated on the hillside of Old Towne, offering a great view of the Belham valley up to the beach. It is just a 5-minute stroll to the beach. From the pool deck and patio you have fantastic views on the volcano, the beach and the Belham valley. We are looking forward to sharing this little piece of paradise with you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing