We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do in Northern Michigan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Churchill Pointe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hubbard Lake B&B and Inns
Upper Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must do in Northern Michigan”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are ever up by Hubbard Lake you must stop at Churchill Pointe. Don (the owner) and his wife and staff go out of their way to make sure your dining experience is beyond excellent. The Lobster Bisque is out of this world as are the Prime Rib entrees, pan fried walleye and all of the great pasta dishes. He spends the winters in Marathon, Florida and has perfected key lime pie. In the spring when the morel mushrooms are bountiful they make the best champagne morel mushroom sauce. You will not be disappointed, my wife's favorite restaurant in Northern Michigan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mijo2095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a find. The owners were friendly, spent a good deal with us and even cooked breakfast. More of a bed and breakfast in many ways, yet with a much larger Dining Room to serve boaters on Hubbard Lake. The restaurant dinner was very good in menu selections and quality. The room was comfortable, though the bathroom was small. Built before required, there is no elevator, must be able to climb stairs. The lake view from the deck is outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went here with friends and had great service, good food and drinks. The view of the lake was wonderful as well. Everyone had something different and there were no complaints. Need to be sure to have a reservation though if you plan on going on a Saturday evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkis229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just came for dinner. We waited forty minutes before they took our order. Yes a meal should be an event but this is ridiculous. We are stuck coming here every year because some family members love it. I would never eat here otherwise

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizaDeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, VA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently I had the opportunity to visit the Churchill Ponte Inn as the guest of an organization I was working with. They had planned an event at the Inn and the theme was the prohibition era - set in 1930 at the Inn (which was built in 1926). I can't speak to the event - it was done by someone else- but the food was wonderful and the owners were charming and gracious and seemed to be right on top of every need my host requested.

With the closeness of the lake- just outside the doors - there was a fabulous view and the food was wonderful. It was a special buffet with chicken and salmon and wonderful vegetables - salad - and one of the best pecan pies I have ever eaten (and I have a long history of eating pecan pies). Officially the Inn did not open until the following day - it was a special event for the hospital - but the owners, Don & Sharon Geib welcomed everyone with great grace and charm. They've owned the Inn since 1995, so they have clearly had a lot of practice.

This was a real treat for me. A quick trip - I look forward to another visit when I may get to stay in one of their guest rooms and stay the night. I could almost hear the owls and other night birds. It must be fabulous in the summer. I can't wait for the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MURDERLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A very nice room and view of Hubbard Lake. We recommend you pay the extra charge for the "crows nest" room. The restaurant is very nice and the food excellent. A great place to hide away from the crowd and relax. I would recommend Churchill Inn and will most likely return. The only negative was the bed. It seemed rather old and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I won a night's stay here or I never would have driven to the sunrise side of our State since we summer on the sunset side. This is a lovely inn, with 8 guest rooms plus an apartment. All rooms have private baths and coffee service. The restaurant is excellent which faces Hubbard Lake. This location helps visitors 'get; what is so special about 'up north' Michigan. Hard working, hands on, owners saw to it that my stay was special. I had a lovely lake front, king size room. I had a light dinner which was excellent and was given a nice quiet table, as I was alone and using my Kindle. Breakfast was included and I enjoyed a delicious mushroom, swiss and spinach omelet with bacon, toast, fresh fruit plate, muffin, orange juice and coffee. Seeing Lake Huron and Alpena was a bonus for me. There is no elevator to the second floor guest rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor. They are all nice and roomy. The shower was adequate - not too sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwtr2migma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hubbard Lake
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpena - Downtown
16.9 mi away
Best Western Of Alpena
18.5 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#4 of 7 in Alpena
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Thunder Bay Resort
Thunder Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillman
187 reviews
16.2 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Alpena
51 reviews
16.9 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Pointe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Pointe Inn

Property: Churchill Pointe Inn
Address: 5700 Bennett Rd, Hubbard Lake, MI 49747-9606
Location: United States > Michigan > Hubbard Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hubbard Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchill Pointe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchill Pointe Inn - is a historic 1920's era country Inn centered on a picturesque peninsula, overlooking the beautiful shoreline of Hubbard Lake. Just 20 miles south of Alpena Michigan. Churchill Pointe Inn captures the beauty and innocence of nature's splendors. Whether staying in one of our nine guest rooms, or enjoying a relaxing dinner, an undisturbed lake view is part of your experience. Best of all, the unique beauty, outdoor activities, and romantic ambiance help create the ideal atmosphere for a true Northern Michigan getaway in the only full service Inn on Hubbard Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Churchill Pointe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing