We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't measure up.”
Review of Mexicalli Allie's - CLOSED

Mexicalli Allie's
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Howell, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Doesn't measure up.”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Service was just OK, seemed like we were putting the waitress out to give good service. Had to ask for additional request's. Water, Napkins etc.... Never came to or table to see how things were, we always had to ask some else to send or waitress when we wanted something....
Food was just ok, nothing exceptional. We won't go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howellhotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howell
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude waiter needs social skills !”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

They line all 2 person tables up against the wall. When my financee asked if we could move, he said sure! When we wanted to move to the next table over away from the not so nice wall,he said not allowed to sit at 4 person table because they might get busy. The place was empty our whole awful dinner experience at Mexiclli Allie !

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A pleasant, family run restaurant.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Mexicali Allie's is a pleasant place to eat. It's even nicer when shared with a friend. It's clean - and that says a lot to me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Realkayakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Town!”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I have been ordering take out from Mexicalli Allies for the past two years and absolutely LOVE it. I've been to Mexico and eaten in numerous Americanized Mexican restaurants - this one is my favorite. Now - notice that I said take out. The interior of the restaurant is very dated and they don't serve alcohol of any kind. Also, I can understand when other reviewers state that the service isn't friendly. Because I've been going to this restaurant for so long, the owners know me by name and my order by heart but they are a little gruff. If you can get over the decor of the inside and the service - you won't be disappointed by the food. The super nachos are the best along with the combination plate and the burrito plate.

Just remember to call ahead before you go because the hours of this restaurant are very strange.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giggidygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mexicali alley worst ever should be garbage alley”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This hole on the wall has rude service. Prices are horrible for mexican food. The place is a creaky old nasty building with crappy tables and obnoxious fat waitresses with crappy attitudes. Save your money and go down to Los tres amigos

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eeaattoinngg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicalli Allie's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing