We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serve Raw Chicken, Rotten Food at Restaurant, Rooms Grossly Dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serve Raw Chicken, Rotten Food at Restaurant, Rooms Grossly Dirty.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Dont think room had been cleaned in years. Thick layers of dust and bed smelled like sausage. Overcharged by double at check out for stay. Private hairs on bathroom floor. Chicken at restaurant was served raw, never received silverware when salad was served. Waitress didnt come back until she brought the raw chicken. OJ rotten as well. This all happened on New Years. Under staffed and uneducated staff. Pool is grossly dirty. Pets are allowed, including pot belly pigs. Stay at a farm instead if considering this place.

Room Tip: Go to the Grand Traverse Resort if looking for a clean, safe family trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    29
    20
    57
See reviews for
103
41
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, MI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was awesome. We had our family group there this labor day weekend and everyone enjoyed there stay. The manager (Brooklyn) was very accomodating. The staff was very friendly and kind. The view of the lake was amazing. My kids loved the waterpark. The food in the restaurant was good but the service was a little slow. We will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBrighton_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton township,mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

food was great. location was great. no complaints. beach area was clean and safe for all ages. very friendly staff. rooms could use a little updating.a++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nz31tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My parents stayed here for my mom's birthday this past weekend. They stay at other Comfort Suites around Michigan often and have always had positive things to say about their stays. Not this time...

To start, my parents got there to find a stained comforter and pillow cases. Okay, not the end of the world. My mom simply called down to the front desk and asked for replacements. The gentleman on the other end replied, "So, do you want to come get them now?" My mom hesitantly replied, "No, I'll wait for them. I'm in no hurry." I don't know that I've ever had hotel staff ask if I should come get CLEAN linens. That seemed odd. Anyway, 2 hours later and they never showed up. My mom called again, an hour later - nothing. So, they went down to get them. Alright ... life goes on.

I showed up to hang out with them on Saturday, for the day, and didn't notice anything bad about the lobby or carpet conditions when I walked in. They seemed to be the Comfort Suites standard, so no complaints there. But when I got up to the room, I immediately noticed the view. It was lovely to see Houghton Lake right out the window - actually very pretty. As I go to open the balcony door, my stepdad says, "Wait! Don't open that." I was immediately puzzled as I wanted to stand out there. Well, he went on to explain how many spiders and webs were out there. I just laughed it off and went out anyway. BIG MISTAKE. They were everywhere! Not only that, but the balcony walls and chairs were covered in splattered dirt. It was very unwelcoming for a lake view hotel.

The room itself was clean enough. Dusty in places, but no uninhabitable. A little dated, but fine nonetheless. Nice little kitchenette area, which was perfect for snacks and leftovers. My mom also noted that the bed was extremely comfortable.

Now, the pool area. WHAT. A. DISASTER. At first glance, I thought it was a very cool room. A lazy river, water slide, hot tubs, and a little pool. Not bad. We did enjoy a good hour between the water slide and hot tub, but that was the extent of it. I tried so hard not to look around, because the room was so dirty. The window sills and floor perimeter were caked with dirt and dead bugs. The tile floor had a film on it that was slimy and visible. There was also crumbled blue paint, that came off the ceiling, all over things that aren't used often. The only available chairs (when we walked in) were in the corner and had a dusty coat of this blue paint. We wiped them off and still enjoyed ourselves, but it's just a hassle when you're expecting a clean and inviting experience.

I wish I'd taken pictures, but the tiki bar was a joke. It looked like it could be cool if kept up, but it was falling apart. The straw roof was caved in and it was unattended and just used as additional seating for the kids and teenagers. Also, when you're in the pool and look up there is a very sad wooden fan. It had certainly seen better days as it looked melted from the humidity in the room. Not a big deal, but just goes to show that things are not well kept.

This all suite hotel has a big sign over the lobby doors that reads "Under New Management!" Clearly that means nothing. I'm honestly surprised by all the glowing reviews on this hotel and advise you to stay away if you would prefer a clean experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GK0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houghton Lake hotels

Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The lakeside rooms have a very nice view; if you have a boat, there is a long dock to tie it to overnight. The DNR boat launch is just a few yards away. The rooms were nicely decorated & were clean. We didn't use the indoor pool or waterpark; the waterpark is quite small but young children would enjoy it. One thing that would be nice is more attention paid to the balconies; ours was covered in cobwebs & we needed to wash the chairs before we could use them. I know it's outdoors & some dirt should be expected but this was a bit much. Also - and this would be a bigger change, but: the exterior balcony lights come on early & stay on all night. This attracts bugs & makes it impossible to sit out after dusk; also, the light shines into the room. It would be much better if each room could have control of their balcony lights; as I said, a major change.... We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked a lake-view room at the Hotel. The view was awesome and since the weather was nice, we could not ask for more. The hotel has a nice pool with some water rides as well. So, its a great stop for families with kids. Also, it has a nice restaurant with a variety of cuisines from Mexican to Indian available. The food was decent and the drinks were also affordable. Only weak point was that the room rates are on the higher side. On weekends its normally around $220 for a room, which seems little pricey as compared to the facilities available.

Room Tip: Try to book a lake-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently stayed at Comfort Suites Lakeview for our 5 year anniversary. We had originally booked a rustic cabin for the weekend, but figured we’d live it up for one night. The hotel was beautiful on the outside and was situated right on Houghton Lake. Because the room was a suite (they all are) it was a little more expensive, but with all the amenities – fitness room, water park, free wi-fi, hot breakfast, room service, etc. it was worth it. The room was spacious. The water park was not real big, but did have a lazy river, winding water slide, kid’s splash park, and a hot tub. My husband and I went down the slide a handful of times and it was a blast! The hotel also had another feature my hubby liked, and that was “Milk and Cookie Hour” held in the sitting room each night. Those were the pros.

The cons: no sandy beach, so if you want to swim, you will be doing so in the water park. At some point in the evening, our sink water smelled like raw sewage. We didn’t complain because we weren’t sure if it was just the well water. We used bottled water to brush our teeth. A couple hours later we checked the water again, and it smelled fine… so we’re not really sure what was going on with that. The water smelled fine the rest of our stay.

Some local things near the hotel – Coyle’s restaurant (home style dining and seafood buffet). There were also a few amusement parks, one of which had go-karts, put-put, batting cages, power-wheels, moon bounce, haunted house, etc. It was pretty fun.

We’d most likely stay at Comfort Suites Lakeview again. Nice hotel, with some fun things to do in the immediate area.



Nicole Zapoli

Room Tip: Beds need more pillows. I would request a few, or bring extra from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovestotravel0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
4.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
4.5 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
77 reviews
21.4 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Houghton Lake
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Resort and Conference Center

Property: Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
Address: 100 Clearview Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9659 (Formerly Comfort Suites Lakeside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort located on beautiful Houghton Lake. With Banquet holding up to 400 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeside Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Lakeside Hotel Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing