We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently stayed at Comfort Suites Lakeview for our 5 year anniversary. We had originally booked a rustic cabin for the weekend, but figured we’d live it up for one night. The hotel was beautiful on the outside and was situated right on Houghton Lake. Because the room was a suite (they all are) it was a little more expensive, but with all the amenities – fitness room, water park, free wi-fi, hot breakfast, room service, etc. it was worth it. The room was spacious. The water park was not real big, but did have a lazy river, winding water slide, kid’s splash park, and a hot tub. My husband and I went down the slide a handful of times and it was a blast! The hotel also had another feature my hubby liked, and that was “Milk and Cookie Hour” held in the sitting room each night. Those were the pros.

The cons: no sandy beach, so if you want to swim, you will be doing so in the water park. At some point in the evening, our sink water smelled like raw sewage. We didn’t complain because we weren’t sure if it was just the well water. We used bottled water to brush our teeth. A couple hours later we checked the water again, and it smelled fine… so we’re not really sure what was going on with that. The water smelled fine the rest of our stay.

Some local things near the hotel – Coyle’s restaurant (home style dining and seafood buffet). There were also a few amusement parks, one of which had go-karts, put-put, batting cages, power-wheels, moon bounce, haunted house, etc. It was pretty fun.

We’d most likely stay at Comfort Suites Lakeview again. Nice hotel, with some fun things to do in the immediate area.



Nicole Zapoli

Room Tip: Beds need more pillows. I would request a few, or bring extra from home.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestotravel0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 220 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our family planned a nice holiday weekend trip to Houghton Lake, and chose to stay at the Comfort Suites Lakeside. The hotel staff and accommodations were about the only thing that went well during our holiday. Such an easy thing to do, but so greatly appreciated, was the cookies and milk every evening at 8:00 PM...the kids looked forward to it. Breakfast was a breeze, having ample options for everyone. The waterpark also gave the kids something to do when we couldn't take the boat out because it was pouring outside. Our girls loved their own separate room with their own TV. Fabulous staff, extremely accommodating. Highly recommend (just not over Mayfly weekend). =)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel is on the beach with great views in a good location for restaurants and bars (wonderful 1940s bar across the street-Nottingham bar). Their own restaurant , blue bayou, was really good and their unique bartender, Zelda, was fun. The pool area was exordinary, with a lazy river, high curvy slide, poolwithfountains and big warm hot tub , all very clean. Tiki bar inthepool wasn't open when we were there. Rooms were big with sofa bed/office area and refrigerator/microwave/coffeemaker and comfortable beds. Free breakfast in the morning and cookies with milk/coffee at 8pm. No complaints.

Room Tip: Avoid adjoining rooms since no sound proof doors.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three days and you couldn't have asked for anything better. The people they have working there are the best. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is a good one. Our room was on the lakeside with a great view. The next day we had the best continental breakfast of any hotel we have ever stayed at. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haley1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The room was dirty, wallpaper falling off the walls, the screen door on balconly was broke! Hot tub was dirty in room, the pool was freezing!! Then the food in the resteraunt was disgusting!! NEVER again, for a newer place its falling apart inside and out!! Siding is falling off, the rust in the pool area is nasty!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank danielle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We purchased day passes to swim and stayed 1 hr. The water was way to cold, rust everywhere. The changing room that was horrible, we changed in the front lobby bathroom. They allowed people to swim in full clothing- Disgusting!!!! Most nice pools ask people to shower before swimming.... they looked as if they walked in and jumped in the pool Jeans and sweatshirts??? We sat at a table over by a "employee only room" , cigarette smell was so strong and you could see smoke coming from under the door. I went to ask the front desk if it was a smoke free hotel and they said they'd take care of that right away. So disappointed! There was a radio blaring loud music with songs I'd rather not have my toddler hear. Pizza and food were all over the floor that looks like it had been there for days! Don't waste your money on this run down dirty place! They informed us they were having an adult only paint/glow pool party in the dark from 12am-2pm! Gross, I could just imagine what they allow then. This hotel should be shut down, I can't believe they pass health inspections. There was a broke off rusted pipe near the entrance to the hot tub.. I was worried for our safety!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Lets begin with this is a beautiful location, right on the western shores of Houghton Lake. Its a newer hotel, with so much potential. That being said, reception was fast and easy. The room was nice, and a fair price.
The pool area, so called waterpark, which at one time was pretty nice, is run down. Maintenance is terrible to non-existant. One of the two Jacuzzis not working. No lifeguards, needed since they sell day passes. The water temp in the water slide pool colder than the lake outside in December. The lazy river had no flow. Three inner-tubes. The sides of pool need a good scrubbing.
The bath changing room was a nightmare. Rust coming off the door running onto the floor. Towelrack and soap dispenser ripped apart.. Its like maintenance doesn't even visit the pool area. Bring your own towels, the few the provide run out.
That's why its Night and Day. Its too bad, it real could be a gem.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidvallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
4.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
4.5 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
77 reviews
21.4 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Houghton Lake
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Resort and Conference Center

Address: 100 Clearview Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9659 (Formerly Comfort Suites Lakeside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range: $91 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort located on beautiful Houghton Lake. With Banquet holding up to 400 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeside Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Lakeside Hotel Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing