We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & wonderful room with a beautiful view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great staff & wonderful room with a beautiful view.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Just needed a room for one night while my boat was being worked on down the street. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The room was much more than I thought it would be. A pleasant surprise. And a wonderful view of the lake and private beach. Will be coming back again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whj1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    42
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
70
45
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our way further up north. The hotel staff was very accommodating on my request for extra pillows late at night. We only stayed for a few hours but I would stay there again if I needed a night in Houghton right on the beach.

Room Tip: Walk-out on the beach on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

When we decided to stay for just a night in Houghton Lake, we thought that we would just check-in, stay a night, and be out. But we were tremendously wrong! When we first checked in at the front desk, they gave us a key card with bite marks in it. What's more, the card said Motel 6 , was it stolen or something? We were like fine...no big deal. But right when we stepped into our room, something was wrong. The room must have been below 50 degrees and there was no way I was going to sleep in my coat. We called down to the front desk to complain and were told that we should turn the thermostat on... except when we tried, it wasn't working. So the lady at the desk said fine and gave us a new room card for another room. But that one was even colder!! Our third room was the same. We finally decided to just stay in our first room and so we unpacked and went out to dinner. When we came back, we got ready for bed, (the bathroom was dirty and the sink was broken) , but we finally got to bed under sheets that smelled like smoke and had burn holes in them. We weren't happy enough to check out the next morning!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Petter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my family have stayed at the Beachfront about 4 times in the last year alone . The Managment and staff are the best and the rooms are so clean and the view is awsome. There price is very reasonable and allot cheaper than allot of the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The Rooms with the view of the lake are the best Winter or summer you cant beat the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went snowmobiling this past weekend. When we checked in and throughout the whole stay the staff was great! We did have some room issues. When we checked in the young lady said I hope the room is not too cold for you. We didn't think much of it. We turned the heat on high and went out snowmobiling. When we came in we went down to the pool. When we got back, our room was still cold turned out the heat didn't work. We called the front desk and a young lady came down and was in the room "trying" to fix it which she clearly didn't have any idea how to fix this problem. Around 830 or 900 they switched our room. It was nice they did, but moving all of our unpacked things was a big pain. We then wanted to call the front desk after our room switch and noticed the phone in the room was not working. How this hotel is set up it is a pain to keep walking to the front desk. The next morning I also discovered that in our move I had lost my wallet. After checking out we had to go back and search both rooms. Not the best evening and morning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie198124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice location, beautiful view of the lake. Room was VERY clean and spacious. Pool and hot tub was great, not too much chlorine. Nice variety of things for breakfast, mostly cold items, but quite a few things to choose from. Staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure everything was ok with the stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Snowmobilers can pick a walkout room and have their machines parked right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relax_takeyourtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I booked twelve rooms here for family reunion in July 2012. I didn't have one complaint Yay! This group can be tough to keep happy. The new owners are taking great pride in their ownership. The beach is all cleaned up, with lawn furniture and. BBQ grills and even a play scape. Nice job, I would book the family here again.

Room Tip: 1st Floor has walk out patio to lawn and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prankstermary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
4.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
75 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
338 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
336 reviews
4.0 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Houghton Lake
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Property: Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Address: 4990 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful private sandy beach on Michigan's largest inland lake, Houghton Lake. The hotel features barbecue grills, picnic tables, fire pit, indoor pool and hot tub, free boat parking on our 14 section private dock, free wi-fi, pet friendly, continental breakfast, 48 rooms with private balconies, 12 jacuzzi rooms to enjoy for your special occasion, family friendly, great for weddings, family reunions, golf outings, birthday parties, graduations, wedding packages available, group discounts. Closest hotel to the heart of Bud Bash and Tip Up Town USA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Houghton Lake
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing