We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what we needed. But not 5 star quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our stay at theb Holiday Inn Express was rather pleasant, but only for what we needed. The reason we stayed here was for a family reunion, so we were only at the hotel for a little while at a time. Otherwise, everything we could manage to do at the hotel was fine. The breakfast in the morning, (the only meal they serve) was well stocked, as someone was always replenishing the food quantity. The food itself was good, but not excellent. They serve a variety of eggs, toast, crepes, cinnamon rolls, and cereal, plus bananas so you really have almost everything you need to start your day. There is also a fridge down there where you can get milk, hard boiled eggs and yogurt. The room was also fine, but the beds were not comfortable at all. The pull out couch especially, was terrible. Otherwise, nothing else seemed to be wrong as the maids gave you new towels everyday, cleaned the room, and offered a hershey kiss by the bed. This is not the most fancy hotel to exist, but overall, its the best you will find in Houghton.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beardeddragonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

This was our first time at a Holiday Inn Express and we were impressed. The hotel is located in an odd spot on the city’s southwest side in behind a Perkins and next to a furniture store. It overlooks a busy highway and is backed by a huge hill of rock. The room was great, albeit on the second floor which made it a bit tricky with our two smaller dogs. Very clean and roomy. The view from the window was of the man made hill of rock. The beds were super comfortable. The free breakfast was the typical frenzied expericnce with people faced with free food unable to make adult decisons. The quality of the breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We've stayed in Houghton so many times, and we've come back to the Holiday Inn Express for most of those stays. The staff is friendly, check in is quick and easy, the rooms have always been clean. This last stay was no different. Though everything was up to "snuff", the reason for the 4, versus 5 point rating is the fact that the bath fan comes on automatically when you turn on the bath light.. Petty? I suppose, but I like a HOT shower and a WARM bathroom when I am done showering. The bath fan sucks out all the heat in the room----I end up cold (wah!). I am an adult, quite capable of turning on a bath fan to clear the humidity in a room------WHEN I'M DONE. The fan was VERY loud, and since there was no outlet in the bathroom to plug a night light in, it meant switching on that LOUD FAN in the middle of the night-thus waking up dear hubby. This is small and petty, but a big turnoff to me.
The rest of the stay was very nice-and quiet too!
I will always stay here, but the fan----well, that's gotta go!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

There are not a lot of hotels up in this area, but this is one of the nicer ones. Ask for a room in the front as the rooms in the back just face a rock pile. The staff at the hotel were all very nice. My was average size and was clean. It had a refrigerator which was nice. The rooms come with breakfast which included hot and cold choices. It's enough to get your day started. The gym is small but adequate. My one complaint about the gym is that there is no air conditioning in there. This seems to be typical for this area. There is a nice pool, but I did not use it. There is a business center with one computer. Overall, it's not fancy, but it is a comfortable hotel to base yourself out of. There is shopping near by which includes a grocery store (Econo Foods), Shopko, Dollar Tree and a Walmart..

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressHTN, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2010

Thank you for the very nice review on TripAdvisor! I am pleased you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciate the time you took to place the review. We are just beginning to expand into this forum of communication so your favorable review is a great start for us! I hope you will stay with us again when you find yourself in Houghton in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel many of times, as it is easy to get to when we visit Houghton.
The sheets on one of the beds had a huge stain on it, so had to have Housekeeping come and change it.. and they did not seem to happy about it!
This time, I was not happy with the breakfast- they eggs were slimy and they never refilled the orange juice one morning.
There were a few times when we were at the pool, that our key did not work when we got to our room, and had to run to 3rd floor and back 2 times.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerijo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time to let us know about the issues during your stay. I have given the comments to our department heads to address with our staff. I appreciate the feedback from you as it is an valuable measure of our performance. I apologize that you had to experiance an unpleasant stay with us. I would like to contact you to discuss the situation further. I hope you will return in the future and allow us an opportunity to provide you with the pleasurable stay you should have had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We arrived at the hotel at about 8:30 at night, and experienced a quick and easy check-in. The person working the desk that night and all staff we spoke to at the hotel were all helpful and friendly, providing many suggestions on places to eat and things to see. We reserved the 2-room suite, which had a somewhat unusual setup but it still worked well for us. The main room was a very large room that comfortably fit the bathroom, a queen bed, a small table and chairs, a large desk, a sofa bed, TV, small refrigerator, and microwave. The second room, separated by a real door, had a queen bed and TV. The sink was in the main room, not separated by a door, so this could be something of a problem if someone was trying to sleep in the main room while someone else was washing. The room was clean and in good repair though. There seemed to be a lot of attention to detail by the staff, down to the handwritten notes we received a few times thanking us for staying. The exercise room was typical for a small hotel, with a couple of treadmills, elliptical, and a rack of free weights. Everything appeared to be in good working order though. The breakfast had a reasonable selection of cereal, bananas, toast, bagels, muffins, cinnamon buns, biscuits & gravy, and eggs. The staff did a good job of keeping the food stocked and the breakfast area clean. The shower had great water pressure. Wireless was free and worked well. Due to their location, they don’t get newspapers until 1:00 pm, so no paper in the morning (not even from the previous day when I asked). Like with many newer hotels, it’s very easy to hear people on the floor above. Our room was between the pool and a stairwell, and we couldn’t hear noise from either of them, but I could hear every footstep in the room above. Also, quite a bit of light from the parking lot lights filtered around the curtains, so while not unbearably bright, not completely dark either. Overall though, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usroadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed here one night while on business in the U.P. (see also reviews for Holiday Inn Marquette, HI Express Iron Mountain, and Comfort Inn Ironwood).

This is another relatively new, typical HI Express that meets all expectations. It's a couple of miles from the center of town, but there are restaurants and a grocery store nearby.

The room was clean, fresh, and in good working order. No surprises at breakfast - so all was good.

The Internet worked well and the staff was friendly.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
42 reviews
11 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
1 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
24.2 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range: $98 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing