We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay in Houghton!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in Houghton!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Super friendly staff, comfy beds, convenient location to pretty much everything. Absolutely no complaints. Parking is plentiful. One very big win for me was the breakfast and mid-day snack... I was shocked by how delicious everything was. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klemsonkrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am so glad to hear you had a great stay!!! We always try to provide a good breakfast for our guests and appreciate you taking time to share your experiance. And I love the picture of the zen rock pile on beach! We hope to see you again in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    63
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
42
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was staying at this hotel with my wife, daughter and son during last 10 days of August. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Big rooms to accommodate 4. The room was very clean, got plenty of car parking facility. Good location, surrounded by a lot of fast food restaurants, Walmart, JCPenny, Shopco and EconoFoods. Coffee and hot water for tea are available 24x7 free along with pop corn and cookies. We used them a lot. The B/fast is a bit average just as any other Holiday Inn express.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SivaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate hearing how our guests stays went. I was thrilled to see you were able to enjoy our new popcorn maker. The staff was very excited to get it and the guests seem to enjoy it. And it kind of fun! I hope we will see you again the next time your travels bring you to the Keweenaw!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very pleasant hotel typical of the Holiday Inn Express chain. Checkin was fast and the staff was friendly and courteous. There was ample parking and the location suited our itinerary. The breakfast was good plus there was a very good coffee all day coffee station. Stayed here a few years ago, and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeReeRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear back from our guests after their stay. I was particularly glad to hear you had stayed with us before and had returned to see us again. I hope we see you in the future, we'll keep the coffee hot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Everyone seemed to enjoy working there. Housekeeping even gave us clean rags to help us dry our rain soaked bikes. Super clean, great ample breakfast, nice pool, and a nice location. Ann was especially helpful in the reservation process. I doubt that I will ever be that far up in Michigan again, but if I do, I will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the double bed suite. There is a nice couch and sitting area. Perfect when traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAZALFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your tour of the Keweenaw by bike. Maybe you will feel the need to come cruise up to Copper Harbor again sooner than you think! We would love to have you stay with us again if you do! Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nites and the hotel was clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was good except for the scrambled eggs which were evidently mixed with milk or water before being scrambled and were chopped into such tinly pieces it was hard to even get a bite full onto the fork. Very tasteless. They did, however, have a big choice including pancakes, yogurt, and much more. One lady at the front desk was very helpful in pointing out places to see and giving directions. Another lady was very officious and let us know that the price we got was like a "gift" and instead of asking for our AARP discount upon check in, we should be grateful to have got the price we did. That was not a pleasant lady!! Thankfully, the other person we dealt with made up for it.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over a hillside of rocks and was actually very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyhhdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate hearing about our guests stay, both good and bad. I apologize for the incident with the front desk staff. Your comments will help me address the issue to improve our service in the future. It sounds like you enjoyed the rest of your stay. I hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were traveling through the Upper Peninsula with our Golden Retriever, and booked the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw as one of our stays. We arrived a little early for check-in, but Mary was able to find us a dog-friendly first floor room that was available immediately. Very gracious at check-in. We loved the clean, comfortable room. The shower was very nice and invigorating! Breakfast was good and we enjoyed staying at this hotel. Check out had a very minor glitch that Ann took care of quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvgal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We were glad to be able to accommodate your canine friend during your visit. I am glad to hear it was an enjoyable visit. We hope you will visit us again the next time you visit the Keweenaw! Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We originally were only going to spend one night in the area, but with so much to see, we decided to extend our stay an additional day. Although the hotel was nearly booked for the second day, Mary went out of her way to make sure we were able to stay the additional day in the same room.
Kim was a great resource telling us what local attractions to be sure to see and the best restaurants in the area for dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our area so much that you wanted to stay another day! There is so much to see and do in the Keweenaw. I appreciate you taking time to share your experiances. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
24.2 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Property: Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing