We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very typical Holiday Inn Express. Nice, clean, comfortable room. Ours was larger than what I am used to. The staff was nice and helpful. We did not use it but the pool area was nice. We did use the fitness room which was ok but had no air conditioning. It was extremely hot in there. This place (like all the places in the area) is very pricey. Overall a good stay and I will probably choose it again the next time I am In the Houghton area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DAA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay with us. We love to hear from our guests. Thank you for mentioning the temperature in the fitness center. It is something we are looking into correcting. I hope you will come stay with us again when you find yourself in the Houghton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    65
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
42
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Accomodating and pleasant staff. Large , Clean updated room. Nice pool with sauna Good breakfast typical of chain. What you would expect. Location is near shopping and restaurants away from center of town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliketoeateat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate you posting your review on Trip Advisor. It is always good to hear from our guesta about their stays with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, MI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in June 2013. The room was very clean and comfortable. All furniture is up to date and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, what you hope for in this type of hotel. And since I need to provide at least 200 characters, blah, blah, blah, blah.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tomatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently stayed here with my sister and my two little boys(2 & 5). I reserved a two queen room and asked for a rollaway bed. When we arrived, we found out that the pool was closed because it was being painted. That was disappointing. However, we were given a large room which included a pull out sofa. The room was on the top floor at the end of the hallway which was great with two energetic boys! The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great staff, clean room, clean pool area. I would for sure stay at this hotel again, no complaints. When we arrived the front desk staff was very nice and very helpful. The most important thing to me is how clean the room was and it was very clean. The pool area was large and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room on the backside. Just be aware that there is no view, excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogeyman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

When we arrived at the Houghton Holiday Inn Express we were greeted with gift bags since we were Holiday Inn rewards members. What a nice treat! The hotel was being remodeled which can be chaotic but they did a good job not letting it get in the way of guest comfort. The room was great- newly remodeled and clean. The breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast which is adequate to fill you up with many choices. Staff was courteous and friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadtriptheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback for us. It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Houghton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were up in Houghton to visit our son at Michigan Tech. It was our first family weekend and also Homecoming weekend so most hotels were filling up fast. We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn since it is just up the Hill from the school. The rooms were recently remodeled - spacious and very clean. The check in was very fast and the front desk was very friendly throughout our entire stay. We stayed for a couple of days and we had no issues at all. The continental breakfast had your typical eggs, pancakes, cereals, muffins. Good selection of tea and coffee creamers which is a big plus for me. Plenty of parking, beautiful area, restaurants and shopping very close by. For being packed with all the travelers the hotel was very quiet and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
24.2 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Property: Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing