We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Super 8 Houghton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Houghton
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We've stayed here a few times when visiting MTU. Great value. Good breakfast. Clean rooms. Right on the water and easy walk to down town or MTU campus. The only negative, if the hotel is full you can hear people in the hall and next to you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    275
    130
    21
    21
See reviews for
322
138
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We were very happy with our two adjoining rooms facing the water. The breakfast was nice, pretty much all we needed. The rooms were clean and comfortable. While in Houghton, we attended an anniversary dinner in the Best Western up the road close-by and we all commented that we were happier staying in the Super 8 instead. Much nicer grounds and outdoor comfort. We would stay there again with no problems.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Great Hotel, Hotel was clean, beds comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. Location was wonderful, right on the river. For the money, you can't do better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nich1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This was my second extended stay here in as many weeks. The staff & manager will do just about anything to make being away from home feel like a second home! I will never look further for lodging in this area........Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My boyfriend and I came to Houghton to visit my sister at MTU. We are not difficult to please, and did not require any fancy frills with our hotel. And the beds themselves were actually quite comfy, to our surprise.

Parking and distance to MTU were great. High speed internet, great. Check-in fast and easy. Continental breakfast could've been better, I generally like SOME source of protein, but then again we could've gone to a fancier hotel if it was all that important.

What we DO require during a hotel stay is hot water for a shower! The maintenance man advised us to "let it run for a bit". Well after 20+ minutes of wasting water, our shower was tepid, and had almost no water pressure. We made do with sponge baths with the hot water that came out of the sink.

The second night we arrived in our room to find a huge infestation of ants all over the bathroom floor. I understand that ants can be pesky, but this infestation was pretty disgusting. We changed rooms.

Once re-settled, we made our way down too the pool to find a party of at LEAST 20 people who appeared to be college age - possibly because each of them had a beer can or beer bottle in each fist! They were loud and rude, clogging up the hot tub and making it impossible to enjoy the remaining space of the pool. I complained to the young man at the front desk - he managed to leave the movie he was watching on his laptop to talk to us. He apologized. We headed back to our room to change and visit my sister - when we left, he was watching his laptop again, and the party in the pool seemed to have gotten more raucous, but there certainly hadn't been one thing done about the alcohol and glass in the pool area! My boyfriend and I were livid.

Next time, we'll stay ANYWHERE but here. To be fair, we could've been more demanding, but nobody wants to be that rude person who makes an embarrassing scene by screaming at the poor hapless employee and throwing things, but now I wish I actually had.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChellBell0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ignace MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We got great service at this hotel, the front desk staff were nice and recommended a larger variety of restaurants...provided menus and directions. I've seen some negative comments, but we had great service...we asked several questions during the evening and the ladies were quite nice.

The room had a great view of their sister city, Hancock, MI and the ski hill. We arrived in the middle of a bad snowstorm, but the parking lot was plowed out immediately.

Visiting Michigan Tech University, we found this to be a superb location. Unfortunately, the driving snow made it a bit of a problem seeing the sign -- was easy enough to turn around and find the hotel.

We thought the breakfast was great, the waffles were perfect (I've had them soggy at other places with those same machines.) Although we enjoyed the sauna and pool area, there was some sort of sediment down at the bottom of the whirlpool. Otherwise, it was great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyKimberlyDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I was extremely happy with my stay at this Super 8. They are located right on the river backing against the fitness trail that traverses MTU's campus. The rooms were clean and they definitely have ample parking.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beldingsfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
9.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
24.6 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Houghton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Houghton

Property: Super 8 Houghton
Address: 1200 E Lakeshore Dr, N on Lake St From US 41, Houghton, MI 49931-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Houghton 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Houghton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houghton Hotel Houghton
Super Eight Houghton
Houghton Super Eight
Houghton Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing