We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”
Review of Super 8 Houghton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Houghton
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Steph3644
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 760 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

on our first night the heat in the room did not work. the night manager refused to switch us to a different room and brought us a portable heater that did not heat the room. The temperature in the room was cold as it was only 20 degrees outside. Night two, after the maintenance man checked our heater he thought it wise to leave it turned to high heat high fan while we were gone for 8 hours raising the temperature in the room to 100 according to a temp gauge we had. I had to open a window and again complained to the front desk who did nothing as according to the they are not allowed to offer discounts or switch rooms. I will never stay at this hotel or another Super 8, my children and I did not have a decent nights sleep and we all left with sore throats.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank CARRIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Scott P T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank EDWARD P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was very surprised that there was no fridge or microwave in the room. One bar of soap, small bottle of shampoo for 2 people for 2 nights. TV not very clear. Breakfast from 6-10 and then it's shut down. Waffles, yogurt, apples, juice, cinnamon rolls in plastic wrap, hard boiled egg, maybe cereal, I cannot remember. Plenty of tables. Ice bag not replaced. Toilet almost overflowed, had to call desk for plunger. Hated the heating system, but I dislike these room type systems. Price was right, but still baffled by no microwave or fridge, stayed in a less expensive hotels that provided these things.

Room Tip: I would ask for a water view (thought that's what I reserved, but must not have.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is the place for us when visiting our friends in Houghton. The location is close to their house. The view is beautiful. Spend the little bit extra and get a water view room. It is worth it. The place is clean and well run. The staff is friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. The included with room breakfast is good, though we complete it with our own favorite cereal. We appreciate the hard boiled eggs so that the only choice isn't sweets. Coffee is hot and strong. Good assortment of teas. The staff found us two extra pillows, too. This was the second time we stayed there and we will again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank WALTER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Houghton, MI
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
42 reviews
9.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
10.9 mi away
Trailside Lodge Motel
Trailside Lodge Motel
#1 of 2 in Calumet
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Houghton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Houghton

Address: 1200 E Lakeshore Dr, N on Lake St From US 41, Houghton, MI 49931-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range: $109 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Houghton 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Houghton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houghton Hotel Houghton
Super Eight Houghton
Houghton Super Eight
Houghton Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing