We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
17
25
15
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
17
25
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decent place to stay julie motel wake tech rates michigan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

The new owners are great people.
I had to take my daughter up to Michigan Technological University and we needed a decent place to stay. This was clean, quaint and friendly.
The owners actively engaged us in conversation and actively listened to my girls.
I will spend more nights here in the future.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM L, Owner at Copper Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to be here for our guests and offer a clean place to stay. We will be happy to host you again. May your daughter have a great year at MTU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised by the room, slightly older, but looked relativly updated. Much better than I expected given reviews I had read. Very clean. Pillows a little flat, but I can deal with that for clean! We would definitly stop again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mifamilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM L, Owner at Copper Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Thank you for your kind words. As one of the only "mom and pops" in the Houghton area we strive to be clean and comfortable. We do hope to see you again on your next stay. Safe Travels! Mark & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

We stayed because fighting for a refund and hunting down a new room would be a hassle. I’d say at 75$ a night you get what you pay for, but honestly I have regularly paid that much for far better. We won’t be staying again. The whole place is derelict and no amount of effort on the staff’s part can make up for failure to maintain good bedding and general maintenance. If your only requirement is a clean bed at a low cost this might be the place for you. I’d rather rent a cabin with no bathroom at a campground.
Bad: Shower was tepid with barely enough water to complete the shower. One ketchup sized shampoo/conditioner provided. The beds are done; really bouncy and do not breathe well. Pitiful pillows. The whole place is a bit mildew smelling. Has ants. Window air conditioner lets road noise and mosquitoes in. WiFi is unreliable and unsecured. Good: Clean bedding and towels.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank UPHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM L, Owner at Copper Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

As we just purchased the property we are sad to know we lost a guest we never even had a chance to meet. We plan to do some updates as money and time allows. Safe travel, Mark & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018

You never know what you will get at this price point, and this was a great surprise. Sure, some of the decor is a bit outdated, but everything is clean. It is the cleanest motel I have been in. Everything in the room worked - tv, heater, fridge, shower, etc. We didn't like the coffee, but what do you expect for free. This is a great place to stay on a budget to hit the nearby ski and mountain bike trails. I would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oatgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM L, Owner at Copper Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

As the new owners we are happy you found our place clean! We strive to continue to be the cleanest motel around. We have switched our coffee brand so maybe you will like it next time you stay. :) We plan to do some updates as time and money allows. Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Safe Travels,
Mark & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2017

This was our second stay at Julie's. The room was clean, but a bit dark. The beds were a bit stiff and the pillows small. We found ourselves between two rooms that seemed to be having a party. This made our early morning wake-up and drive hard. Julie's is the nicest of the places we have stayed the five years we have been visiting our son during his time at Michigan Tech. We love the close proximity to the school and easy access to our room. We have always been greeted warmly and would certainly return if we were in the area.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank JennyWrenReck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM L, Owner at Copper Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

We hope you do just that and come back and see us. We really focus on having clean rooms for our guests.
Safe Travels,
Mark & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews