We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We chose the Country Inn over the Holiday Inn as the rate was better over the 4th of July. We certainly were not disappointed! The room was large with a very comfortable king bed, large TV, bathroom completely separate from the bedroom, a desk and fast wireless internet. They had a pool but, due to the holiday weekend, we didn't try it. The breakfast room is on the small side and is quite crowded when the hotel is full. There are overflow seating areas, however. The attendant was always in the breakfast room and was very busy. Everything was kept filled and was good. There is a nice business center, too. The location is very quiet but convenient to restaurants and shopping. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    127
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
227
88
12
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed here just two nights when visiting Michigan Tech this winter. Being a newer hotel, this was our first choice in places to stay. They were solidly booked while we were there, a career fair at Tech brought in guests, and a college hockey team was also there while we were there. There was never a feeling like it was too crowded, or too much for the staff to handle. The man at the front desk was very firendly when we checked in and helped us with restuarant recommendations. Our room was spacious and clean - the only problems we encountered were small. We had a suite and the room with the outside window was a little chillier than the inside room. It was close to zero degrees while we were there, so colder air near the window is expected. We could close the curtians which helped keep the cold out. Another problem was the lack of good water pressure in our sink. The shower was great, but the sink was a little slow. We mentioned it when we checked out, but never said anything during our stay - it wasn't that big of a deal. The continental breakfast was very nice. They had a good variety - bisquits, sausages, cereals (including hot oatmeal), all kinds of breads, fruit, yougarts, and juices. They also had the make it yourself waffles. The breakfast room was spacious and had plenty of tables. Never once did we see it where there wasn't an open table - and things were kept clean and refilled on a constant basis. Also, there was a nice room just off the lobby that had two computers available to guests. Only once did I go down to use one and there was somebody else there. In that room was also a huge map of the area on the wall and brochures of places to go and things to do. Overall a great place to stay. We will definitley come here again when we return to Houghton.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0CKEYmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

This is the newest hotel in the area. I have stayed here on business on multiple occasions and have always found it to be clean, quiet, and comfortable. It is located within walking distance of an Applebee's, Wal-mart, and an entertainment complex featuring bowling, an arcade, a restaurant, and other activities. So far as I know, it is the only hotel in the area that offers a hard-line DSL connection (vs wireless). Houghton is not a large city by any means and it is less than 5 minutes from the hotel to Michigan Technological University. I have always stayed using the Fed Gov rate, so I am unsure as to the rack and discount rates, but I have always been especially pleased with this property when compared with other places I have stayed in the Houghton/Hancock area.

  • Liked — Hard-line DSL connection. Has kid friendly pool if traveling with family
  • Disliked — Farthest hotel from downtown and Michigan Tech
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimes011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while exploring the Keweenaw Penisula. The stay was very pleasant. The staff were helpful on most occasions. We would stay here again if needing a hotel in Houghton.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank naranja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

We've stayed at several of these properties on road-trips throughout the Midwest and highly recommend them. Clean and well-maintained (never a run-down feel), good breakfast, friendly, polite & helpful staff, nice pools & hot-tubs, free wireless internet. The Country Inn in Houghton did not disappoint! Well-located on main highway into town but without road noise. There was noise, however, from the dirt-bike track behind the motel, so we'd recommend a front-facing room!
We recommend a nice stroll on the pretty trail alongside Portage Lake in downtown Houghton followed by a steak and beer at The Library Brew-pub. Yummy!

  • Liked — tidy, friendly, pool & hot-tub, generous breakfast, free wireless internet
  • Disliked — dirt-bike track behind motel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskan_itchy-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, MN
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

Our check-in was very fast. At first we were told they didn't have a room reserved for dog owners. Then the front desk said they did. Our room was great and the bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and didn't smell like smoke even though it was a smoking room.

  • Liked — How clean the rooms are
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisapooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

Even with reservations, checking-in was a very slow process. Several people ahead of me could not check-in (posted check-in is 3PM) because their rooms had not been cleaned yet and were asked to come back in an hour or so - it was after 3:30PM. Although my room was ready, the bathroom wasn't very clean. The shower curtain was moldy across the bottom and there was hair in the bath tub. The house keeping staff consistently didn't clean the bathroom very well. Rooms were cleaned very late in the day, usually around 5:30 PM to 6:30 PM and house keeping seemed disgruntled when I asked for the bed to be made. The front desk wasn't helpful when I asked if my room could be cleaned earlier in the day while I was out and it was cleaned even later the following day. I didn't notice any house keeping staff in the mornings. The front desk didn't answer the phone very much. Overall service was less that desirable.

  • Disliked — Next to construction site
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank longdistancetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
11.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
23.8 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
Address: 919 Razorback Dr, Houghton, MI 49931-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Houghton
Country Inns & Suites Houghton Hotel Houghton
Country Inn Houghton
Houghton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing