We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houghton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheridan On The Lake B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Houghton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a great place to stay, Sheridan On The Lake B&B. Our Loft over the garage Suite was beautifully decorated and the view of the canal was great from our room with the over stuffed rockers or from the deck by the water. Barb and Bill are 5 star hosts with 5 star accommodations.
We looked forward to the surprise treats in our room every day of cookies, chocolate or torts.
Breakfast was unique everyday and the place settings were directly out of Home and Garden much like the décor of our room, their home and the grounds. Did I say Breakfast was Great!
The company at breakfast of Barb, Bill and other guests was always stimulating and entertaining.
We exchanged travel stories and picked up recommendations for places to see (to add to our bucket list). Thanks Barb and Bill. We will be back. Bonnie and Larry

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Sheridan On The Lake B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the first review I have written for a b&b on here but I was motivated to do so by the outstanding hospitality my husband and I received during our 2 night stay. The location of the b&b is perfect with the lake just outside the back door (with a couple of kayaks to have a go in if you fancy) and a couple of miles drive from Houghton (pron. Hoe-ton) - although you can follow the trail by the house and enjoy a walk there instead. I gave silent and eternal thanks that the proprietors, Bill and Barbara, had the commendable foresight and generosity to open their beautiful home up as a place of lodging to Joe Public. We were welcomed immediately by Bill with whom we chatted amiably before being shown to our room - the Hollyhock Suite - where we cooed for several minutes about the furnishings, the fact we had our own little private deck to sit out on facing the lake, and our own good sense to enquire about availability in the first place. Breakfast was nutritious, varied and unfailingly tasty and the room was spotless and home-y. Bill and Barbara gave great recommendations on where to visit, where to eat, what to do etc as we were on a flying visit to the U.P. I was genuinely sad that we had to leave and am already planning how we can make another visit to this gorgeous part of the country where we arrived as a pair of anonymous scruffy backpackers and, whilst we were still the same scruffy backpackers when we left, we felt like we had become part of the family. Thanks Bill and Barb!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loungefly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Arrived at the B and B -- a little difficult to find but once there -- greeted by name -- shown the house -- beautiful place -- had the downstairs rooms -- shower was a little small but pressure was good and was fine -- just outside the town so relatively quiet and close to a decent steakhouse -- there was a sauna on site though did not have the time to try it out -- sat on the lovely dock with the chairs provided enjoying the sunset -- watched a family of eagles flying about and fishing -- Good night sleep -- lovely breakfast in the morning -- shared breakfast with a lovely couple for the UK -- Hosts were interesting people -- would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Location and grounds are to die for. Hosts were super people.
Meals were excellent and well thought out. Very quiet and beautiful few of the water. If you pass up an opportunity to stay here, you are missing an awesome chance of a live time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were most fortunate to have stayed for two nights recently with Bill and Barbara at their beautiful home on the lake. The experience was first rate from beginning to end. Their location is a great jumping off point for exploring the Keweenaw Peninsula, an area of the UP rich in natural beauty and history. Barbara provided us with some excellent suggestions for our self-paced tour of the area shortly after breakfast on our first morning. This region is already a bit "off the beaten path", so Barbara made sure that we had the "local knowledge" to maximize our time in the area. Breakfasts were incredible. Both Barbara and Bill took great interest in each one of their guests, and treated us with such warmth and hospitality that you left feeling as if you'd known them for years. So, if you're considering a trip to this area of the UP and pass on the opportunity to stay at the Sheridan On The Lake B&B...you're going to miss a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Janice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent two nights at Sheridan on the Lake and had an excellent experience. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, the location on the lake is perfect, breakfast is delicious with great portions, and Bill & Barb treat you like family. The nightly rate is also very reasonable. We are looking forward to staying at Sheridan again during our next trip to the Houghton area. Do yourself a favor a stay at Sheridan on the Lake!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdtimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This B & B is a real pleasure; It has what everyone would hope to find when staying at one. Wonderful host and hostess, great breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere, beautiful and peaceful surroundings, lovely rooms with private bath,and more amenities than one would expect to find in one place. Bill and Barb are gracious and helpful. The lake adds to the entire atmosphere. We will be sure to try to stay there again when we are in the area.
Mike and Nancy

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake View Loft.first, but all rooms are great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
10.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
22.7 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan On The Lake B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan On The Lake B & B

Address: 47026 Sheridan Pl, Houghton, MI 49931-9049
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Houghton
Price Range: $115 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary cedar shake home is nestled in pine, oak and birch trees on the shore of Portage Lake at the gateway to the Keweenaw Peninsula. Each room has a private deck overlooking the the lake, cable TV, VCR, A/C, sitting area and private bath. Full sit down breakfast and Finnish sauna. Walking/biking trail out the front door; golf course nearby. None smoking. No pets. Wireless internet access. Cash, check and Visa/MC accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing