We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Houghton
Post
Inbox
Search

“Must stop!!!”

Roy's Pasties and Bakery
Ranked #1 of 6 Quick Bites in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
Description: Roy's Pasties and Bakery offers 9 varieties of pasties, 19 kinds of breads per week, 18 sandwiches and wraps, two salads, 26 kinds of bakery, 9 varieties of coffee (three of which are custom roasted for us by Keweenaw Coffee Works!) Republic of Tea service, two soups daily, housemade chips and so many other offerings! Our showcases change daily so come in and see what type of deliciousness we have that day!
Restaurant details
Description: Roy's Pasties and Bakery offers 9 varieties of pasties, 19 kinds of breads per week, 18 sandwiches and wraps, two salads, 26 kinds of bakery, 9 varieties of coffee (three of which are custom roasted for us by Keweenaw Coffee Works!) Republic of Tea service, two soups daily, housemade chips and so many other offerings! Our showcases change daily so come in and see what type of deliciousness we have that day!
Reviewed June 27, 2019 via mobile

Brought our kids here for first time at breakfast..super nice staff...great coffee selection and homey feel!! Beautiful views of the water but best of all the Pasties!! And next best the breakfast Danish!!! All were great!! A must stop everytime in Houghton!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Emisnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2019

The Pasties were extremely bland. I had never had one before and the one they recommend did nothing to make fell like I wanted to try another one. Limited inside eating. Great veiw of the water is their best thing. The other sandwiches were o.k. according to a couple people I visited with. Would be a last choice for me to visit again.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy's N, Manager at Roy's Pasties and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2019

Hi Dennis, we're sorry to hear about your food. We take every review as a learning opportunity to provide the best dining experience possible. Please feel free to reach out to us at info@royspasties.com with any further comments or concerns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019 via mobile

This is a bakery that also is a cafe so does sandwiches and lunches as well. We just had a few pastries which were very tasty and a filter coffee (from a selection of about 6). The only coffee they sell is filter coffee (which is good tasting) but no other coffees such as cappuccino or latte etc.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank ChrisS390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Whenever we trolls visit Houghton/Hancock to visit my Aunt, we make multiple stops here.
My husband eats lunch here while I'm visiting her in a Senior Facility. He likes the food and the view of the Canal and lift bridge.
We always order multiple loaves of Nisu , the Finnish braided cardamon bread.We pick it up the morning we leave and take some home to Traverse City to freeze and parcel out. Their Nisu is wonderful. All their baked goods are high quality.
Many people eat lunch here, too. There are outside tables over looking the Canal during good weather. The building has plenty of windows making it bright and airy with it's great view.
Service is great. Everyone there is personable and knows what they're doing. That isn't always a given anymore.
Google Map Roy's your first time there. Once you figure out how to get down along the Canal, you'll be glad you found Roy's! Even if you're just visiting for a day, be sure to visit Roy's!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stategt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

Always worth a stop.
Roy’s has the best Pastys in the area.
Fresh pastries can also be had here all day, along with local coffee.
Definitely try a Roy’s Pasty while you are here.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank lso275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Pasties and Bakery also viewed

Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Hancock, Upper Peninsula
 
Hancock, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Roy's Pasties and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing