We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey frozen, pre-made steaks.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilgrim River Steakhouse

Pilgrim River Steakhouse
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pricey frozen, pre-made steaks.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I am not sure if they are under new ownership because I have been here several times and their food was excellent. This was my last trip. The steaks were obviously frozen (most likely frost bit) and possibly the worst steak we have ever ate. We had terrible service. The waitress was rude and incredibly slow. We left all our food( minus two bites ) on our plates and she didn't say a word. Grabbed our plates as food flew off onto our table and left. I will never travel to this restaurant again.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drgnfly1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    41
    20
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Ribs I've Ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hands down the best baby back ribs i've ever had. I said this almost ten years ago and it didn't dissapoint this time around.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good steaks, quality going down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

They do have good steaks but not the choices you would expect from a steak house. The quality has gone down in recent years as you have to pay extra for side (vegetables).

Helpful?
Thank Nicole U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Be careful what you order here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Some people at our table ordered sandwiches (steak), and others ordered fish. The fish looked good. I was one of the people who ordered steak sub and it wasn't good. I assumed the steak would be good since it's a steak house but wasn't. My wife ordered the ribs/chicken and it was below average.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au Train, MI
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yooper dip...yum! Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

The Yooper dip sandwich is like a French dip, but better! It was served on a fresh role with pepper jack cheese...a nice surprise. And the fries that came with it were excellent. Fresh cut with a tasty seasoning. A good place for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim River Steakhouse also viewed

Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Pilgrim River Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing