We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Drive-In” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Bowl Drive-In Theatre

Cherry Bowl Drive-In Theatre
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Honor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
traverse city
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Drive-In”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Not many drive-in's left...this is usually a nice place to bring your children. Usually cater to the family with decent movies. I don't go more often because of mosquitoes. I'm not an outdoorsy person at night.

Helpful?
Thank Daja_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    23
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great retro experience in a solid family atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Although we've known about this institution for some time, it was a TV hamburger commercial featuring a drive in and my 12 year old's inquiry that brought us here. At $8.50 per person, it was reasonable--especially considering there were 2 first run movies playing. We arrived around 8pm and had time to walk around and play mini-golf for $3 each. We had dinner from the snack bar: hot dogs and pizza. Prices were moderate and the pizza was quite good. All staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. The only thing that I would change would be to significantly reduce the amount of salt in the popcorn. We were so looking forward to enjoying the freshly popped corn with real creamery butter popped in their 1953 popper. Sadly, it was far too heavily salted to eat and we discarded almost all of it. My suggestion would be offer less salty popcorn and let guests add to their own individual tastes. They do have some flavored salts available to add to your corn, but there's really no point. The use of bug repellent, which they sell is recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CA1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cherry Bowl Drive in- Reminder of great times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Drive ins are hard to find these days and when I do find one, it usually isn't well maintained. Cherry Bowl however was a nice family experience. This kids (age 9-13) had never been to a drive in movie before and really enjoyed the playground up front, and the refreshment stand and best of all watching movies until you fall asleep in the car. Adults were $9.00 each but kids were free and the movies are always family friendly there and a double feature so it is a reasonable expense to take kids to see the latest movies.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mimifreddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something everyone should experience at least once”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just a great summer activity. Plan to have dinner here, and come early so the kids can play minigolf and on the playground. Can't beat two movies for the price of one; although, if you leave after the first it's still a good deal ;)

Helpful?
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great, Just Great Fun - Go And Enjoy Memories From Childhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were visiting Traverse City from New Jersey for a few days, and heard there was a drive-in theater around. My daughters (18 and 15) had never been to a drive-in -- the last one closed in New Jersey sometime in the late 80's or early 90's. So, we decided to go, and we were glad we did. It is a throwback, pure and simple. Cartoons before the movie, funny old commercials for the snack stand (by the way, the snack stand was really good too), and always a double feature. The drive-in also has a playground and mini-golf, but those things are simply sidelines. One update that has been made (which we really liked) is that we could listen to the movie on FM instead of hanging the speaker from the window (but you had the choice to use the speaker) -- this made the sound much better.

On a separate note, the story of the owner is one of sadness followed by hope, and demonstrates how a small town in the US still operates. As the story is told, the owner was hit by a falling tree on the property before this year's opening of the drive-in -- the tree broke the owner's neck and he remains paralyzed (although still in rehab and we pray improving every day). Well, the town rallied for this little drive-in and made sure it wouldn't disappear -- we are told that many townspeople volunteered their time to get the drive-in ready for the 2012 season, and held many fundraisers for the family. That is my vision of small town America, and I am proud to know that my vision is real. If you are in Traverse City (about 20 minutes away from Honor), or anywhere else nearby, go to this drive-in, it will bring back fond memories for you and I promise that your kids will have a ball!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Il0vebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Bowl Drive-In Theatre also viewed

Frankfort, Benzie County
 
Honor, Benzie County
Frankfort, Benzie County
 

Been to Cherry Bowl Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing